Maximum Engagement But Dismal Viewership

in #steemit7 years ago

Since creating my first web site in the Spring of 1995 I have taken part and been witness to many publishing platforms.

In some ways the current state of the platform reminds me of the early web. There is little content but the user base shows a keen enthusiasm.

Maximum Engagement

Whether a post's author is a newbie minnow or the most popular of writers the amount of up-voting and commenting is astounding in relation to its number of viewers.

This leads to a monetization of the content which is really significant.

Unfortunately this is balanced by the platform's main weakness which is ...

Dismal Viewership

As a new minnow, with two weeks of activity, my posts are viewed by 5 to 8 readers, rarely more. This is the case with my current 30+ followers.

Even the most popular authors get rarely more than a few hundred readers.

In my opinion the coders behind Steemit should focus on addressing this inherent weakness.

Flawed Statistics?

I do wonder whether the viewership stats are accurate at all. Please let me know how these examples below could be:

  • article 1 - 48 views, 7 comments, 93 votes, $68.12
  • article 2 - 34 views, 7 comments, 34 votes, $180.09

This makes no sense to me.

In any case it seems the critical factor in getting traction on this platform is to increase one's number of genuine followers.

Am I missing something? What do you think?

Sort:  

The difference is due to voting power of who ever voted.. so one whale can upvote 200usd whereas 100 minnows might only upvote 50cents.

You cant really predict it. All you can do is post with everything u have, and engage, engage, engage with people you resonate with. It will take time a lots of hard work to be noticed unless u are very lucky!

Steem on, just do it because you love it
The rest will come

I think you are missing the auto voting mechanisms
like via streemian.com.
We have to acknowledge the fact that some of us are in it for the sport, while others are in it for the money.

Yeah, probably true.

I should have added a section about the 'scamming' aspect of the system.

I guess that will be another post for another time.

the difference beetween the first and the second one is: the second one got an upvote by @hendrikdegrote, the first on did not.

Good point @blueperegrina. A whale can make a huge difference.

But these two examples were just given to illustrate how many votes a post can get and yet have so few views. That feels wrong.

Oh ok, get it. But have no answer. The steemit chat is good for this kind of questions.

ja, do more research. i am interested in it.

Okay. I'm still working on understanding the whole system and publish my thoughts as they become clearer.