Voting @pfunk as a witness - 3 reasons why you should do this

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Steemit should be build with strong foundations, witnesses are part of this foundation.

Judge for yourself if @pfunk deserves your witness vote, he certainly got mine.

steemit.chat on 30/7/16 with @pfunk below;

Witness page; https://steemit.com/~witnesses #steemcolab
Sort:  

Haha if I knew you were going to make this post I would have put more effort into my presentation ;) Thank you for your vote gord0b!

Something I'd like to add is that I've been running at least one node constantly since I started mining in April. Since the first vote for witness I received I have not missed one hardfork, and have missed 38 blocks in total according to https://steemd.com/witnesses. Missed blocks are inevitable and I think 38 is relatively low.

If you'd like to know more about witnesses and what exactly they do for Steem, I wrote a guide for you!
https://steemit.com/steemit-guides/@pfunk/a-full-steemit-user-s-guide-to-steem-witnesses

Awesome pfunk - you are a star. Thanks for that guide, i just took a browse through and very informative. Not everyone has what it takes to become a witness, investing time, hardware & effort - keep it up.

Good stuff. Thanks for the guide!

You have my vote too!

I've been trying out Mining - let's see how it goes.

I'd love to see a story from you about what it takes to move from miner to witness.

I tested out mining last week, took a while to get the blockchain downloaded properly, for some reason, but was easy enough to setup. In chatting with @pfunk, does not seem to be much profit in mining though.

Steem Mining is still a bit of a mystery. Perhaps experienced miners like @pfunk can set the record straight.

It took me 30 hours to find a block @ 40 KH/s. No idea how the rewards are credited though!

Yeah it is a mystery, i gave up after a couple of hours, finding zero blocks. I think the higher a witness, the quicker the block rewards

Witness votes will give you the chance (based on the stake of your voters) to produce a block without being in the mining queue. When you have witness votes it is an expectation that you will keep your server running and up to date.

Thank you for your witness vote!

Also, I'm curious, @punk, what kind of hardware do you have?

It's a dedicated Xeon E5 v3 server, currently 16 GB of memory and easily expandable to 128 GB.

you got my vote

He is a good person!

I think we should promote less self promotion and more good - make for a better platform and society

Thanks, not sure if this is a bot tho

Bot bro.

Damn they catch me everytime - i need to make a bot to stop the bots - haha