Does Using TextExpander Count as Authentic Communication?

in #steemit8 years ago

 Tonight I was sitting on the couch responding to emails with my  daughter sitting next to me.  She noticed that I was mostly using  TextExpander to respond, and she was surprised. If you aren't familiar  with this tool, it's a way to save and reuse repetitive responses.  For example, as you may know, from time to time I offer a DISC communication assessment  for free. After taking the assessment, the user is automatically sent a  22-page report. However, I sometimes receive an email asking if I can  resend the report. Instead of responding each time by just saying,  "Check your spam folder," I prefer to use TextExpander to respond. I  simply type a short abbreviation I have stored ( in this case "disc")  and like magic, the text I have pre-written appears on the screen.  Here's what shows up:

Thanks for your question  about your DISC assessment.  The report is sent to the email address  that you entered just prior to starting the assessment.  Please look in your spam folder for an email from our assessment partner—Innermetrix—the email they send from is:  [email protected]. If  you still can't find it, we can locate and resend it.  However, because  we prefer to keep your results private, it is preferred that you try to  locate the report that was sent directly to you first.  

 Please let us know if you still can't find your report based on the above information.  We Will  be happy to assist

 

Lisa

When my daughter saw what I was doing,  she said, "Mom, that's cheating! Wouldn't it be better (and just as  fast) if you just wrote: "Check your spam"? Then she started reading  many of my other responses. She felt like using this tool was insincere  and inauthentic communication. She felt strongly that since I had  pre-written these responses the communication couldn't possibly be  authentic. She said, "Aren't you supposed to be a good communicator?"She  raised an interesting question. I found myself being defensive: "Well  if I didn't use this tool, I'd spend most of my day answering emails.  This tool allowed me to communicate more effectively and efficiently."  However,  there was a lingering question...is the communication authentic? I'm  not really sure. What do you think? Let me know in the comments below or  on my Facebook page