Can Anyone Offer Insights into Some of These "re-steeming" Offers?

in #steemit7 years ago

As a relative Newbie here on Steemit, I've decided to take the slow route and build my following organically.

goat climbing mountain.JPG

I've noticed that I'm getting solicited by other Steemit members offering to "re-steem" my posts for a fee. Does anyone know who these people are, and if they are indeed offering something that is effective? Are there some charlatans to avoid here as well, and who are some of those members?

It's very easy to get caught up in the hype of "pay 1 or 2 steem and your post will be re-steemed to my "x" number of followers!" I've already been burned trying to mine bitcoin with the promise of "pay now for future benefit later!", so I don't want to make the same mistake here.

Any insight would be welcome and appreciated.

Warm-Hug-With-You-2.gif

Warm HUGS!

Sort:  

I personally don't believe in buying votes nor paying for exposure. I suppose it can help you grow faster, but I believe these services also have a detrimental effect on the social aspect of this site. The way the site was initially envisioned was that it was supposed to be considered a 'GIFTING' system whereby readers who appreciated your work 'gifted' you with a vote. By deviating from that philosophy, we deviate from the original intent. As long as people continue to use these services, the site will attract more and more bots and it becomes less and less social.

Let your own conscience be your guide.

Hi @happyme, Thank you for your comment above from a month ago no less! My participation here has been spotty at best, but I'm working up to it! I kinda get it, post more and post regularly.

See you again soon!

I suppose it depends on what you want from the platform. If you simply wish to store your content on the blockchain, then how often you post really doesn't matter. If you are trying to build reputation here, then commenting lots will help your name get some visibility. If you are trying to grow fast, then buy Steem and let its value and interest help you to grow more quickly while at the same time making your vote worth more and so become something that others will try to obtain from you by interacting with you.

I hope that sheds some light for you.