Steemit Tip #2 for Minnows from Another Minnow

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

The second tip I'm offering other minnows is very basic. DO SOMETHING. It saddens me that a lot of people sign up here and then bog down. You don't have to, even if the whole Steemit world can be rather confusing at first. Just...

Do something every day...

[1] You could learn a little more about Steemit. For example, have you ever clicked on those three horizontal bars in the upper right corner of your Steemit homepage? A coumn of links opens up... they take you to the Welcome and FAQs pages I described in my first tip for minnows plus about a dozen other things. Poke around for a while and you will understand some new things.

[2] Create a post someplace and make it worthwhile to others. That's what I'm doing here. I certainly hope it helps you! Creating a new blog post is something I do most days now, and I will say more about it another day.

[3] If you don't have time or an idea for a post right now, you can comment and surprisingly it will count as a post on the blue bar on the top of your Steemit homepage. Just go to your feed and look for a post that interests you and looks worthwhile. Not sure how to get to your feed? If you click on the round image you have (hopefully) put on your account which shows in the upper right, Feed is the first item. Or go to my feed and find something there to click on... my feed isn't the stuff I have written but the stuff from people I am following.

So look at some of those titles. Just below them you will see the first line that the person has written and below that you see how much (if anything) it has earned, how many votes it has received and how many comments. I sometimes open several before I find one that I can think of something worthwhile to say.

Where do you reply to a post? Once it's open and you have read through it, you get to the place where there are a bunch of little gray things. On the left, the tags the person used and then a few other things. On the right, it says Reply. Click that and a box opens for your reply. Bingo! You are doing something worthwhile. Don't just say "great post" or something like that. Say something more personal or pertinent to the topic.

Best wishes,

Hereandthere, another minnow! (photo from Pixabay)