Your Votes Will Be More Powerful With Hard Fork 19 - And You’d Better Be Careful With Them!

in #steemit7 years ago

“With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility” - Uncle Ben

Have you ever felt that Steemit’s voting system is unfair? It’s understandable to be sad when your vote is worth $0.01 or even less.

Trust me, I was once in that very same boat! I’ve earned every single steem in my account through hard work and diligent posting. I was far too poor to invest at the start, in fact I was pretty much at financial rock bottom when I first joined in January 2017… during the dark ages of Steem!!

It feels great to have valuable votes. Even with my current modest vote power of $0.05, I love the feeling of supporting my fellow artists.

What is changing?

Hard Fork 19 is going to make your votes more powerful in two ways:

-Voting curve will be linear, not exponential - so whales will be less powerful, and minnows more powerful.
-Your strongest votes will use 2% of your voting power, not 0.5%.

I’m intentionally making this post non-technical. See https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/2hfxx1-pre-release-hf19-linear-rewards for the deep details.

The most important thing to be aware of: It used to require 40 votes to utilize your full voting power each day. Now it only takes 10 votes. That means your votes are four times more powerful than before.

How to Adjust to HF19

The right way to vote used to be: Upvote anything that looks good. Hey, you had 40 votes, why not use ‘em?

The right way to vote in the future is: Be judicious with your vote. Seek out the content that really excites you and give it your full support.

You have the power to influence Steem and help it achieve its true potential. Will you take your role seriously?

My Plan

I’m so damned happy about this update. Now I can focus my votes in a way that really supports my favorite artists & creators like never before.

I love weird art. Thomas Pynchon, Bjork, Flying Lotus, David Lynch, are a few examples of that shit that I do like. Going forward, I’m on a mission: I want to amplify support for experimental art on this platform.

In the short term, that means this: I’ll be exclusively voting for the highest quality content that relates to left-of-center artwork and insightful blogging / philosophizing.

My voting spread will be thus:

-5 Full Power Votes on Posts featuring great art (music, writing, visual, whatever)
-3 Full Power Votes on Insightful “Non-Fiction” Posts / Essays (anything philosophical and futuristic)
-2 Full Power Votes to reward great comments on my own content

I’ll probably keep auto-voting my own original posts (not comments) as well - but this is limited to once or twice a day.

In the medium and long term, I am thinking about starting a Streemian trail and eventually offering art scholarships via Steem - but that stuff will take time, and is best left for another post.

What about you? How will HF19 affect your Steem methods? And, if you have any thoughts or criticisms of my plan, please share them in the comments - I appreciate all feedback as I work to be the best Steemian I can be.

It only takes ten seconds to join my weekly email newsletter, packed with mind-expanding media from around the web. Sign up here: https://mattsokol.us

Sort:  

This is something I really like to hear. I was just getting frustrated with my lack of voting power/crushed under the whales. Thanks for sharing.

You aren't alone - lots of frustrated minnows in Steem right now

no plan survives contact with reality.

but does that mean it isn't worth trying to plan at all? or that plans just need to be flexible?

Is a 'flexible' plan a plan at all,
or is it

good point lol

I think I've identified a pessimist =)

Jackpot ;)

Art scholarship is a cool idea but also a pretty tough goal.

Tough, absolutely. But also doable.

My rough idea would be to find a few sponsors, ideally a few members of the Steem community, to try and offer up a cumulative $1,000 or so. Then ask the question: "What will you do with this $1,000, and why should we trust you?" - accept submissions from the community, then have a small council of ~5 people vote to decide who gets it.

Seems reasonable to me.

I shall use mine to upvote quality 3d and digital design and art as this is the area that most interests me. It will take some adjusting as I judiciously vote on so much great other content. I will have to be brutal with myself.

The new vote curve will be a good thing forward. Looking very much to the moment it is available to us. Great you like to distribute your super votes to some good content related to art. I love music myself, but unfortunately am not a musician.

Hey, we can't all do everything! Nothing wrong with just digging music as a listener.

Sure sure! :)

The active part I do other then listening to music, is to post music I really love here on Steemit. I even created a qsound tag, and I received recently my second account, @qsounds. I still need to figure out to what I like to dedicate this account to, but for sure it is about quality music. I hope I can launch next week or so.

Looks cool to me, consider yourself followed!

Thanks; We are connected both ways!

I value my votes as well, though I would like to help other newbie to earn some rewards.

Not like you, I invested some $ to acquire what I have now.
And I will continue to Up vote newbie with excellent information on their articles.

Cheers,
@Yehey
https://QUE.com - I follow all who followed me. I think that's fair :)

Hey Matt, we'll be searching out and pushing for the absolute best content we can find. Not sure this'll change our behavior, sure hope it'll change the results! :)

Best of luck to you!

Can someone explain to me why there are so many hardforks? Im not experienced in cryptos, but always thought a "hardfork" is a very serious and contraproductive thing? (which might lead to a chainsplit)?

Hardforks are OK when the whole community agrees to them. In this case, the witness / development community has come together 19 times to make significant coding improvements.

A few other major ones were: Restructuring the reward pool (HF17) & reducing the amount of Power Down Time from 108 weeks to 13 weeks (not sure what number this was)

If a hard fork happens between two groups who both disagree strongly - THEN it's a disaster. For example, that is why we now have Ethereum Classic (ETC) and Ethereum (ETH) - even then, both blockchains survived and are now thriving, so maybe it wasn't such a bad thing.