The Story Behind Project Asapers And Why I Decided To "Go For It".

in #steemit6 years ago

asapers2.png


How And Why I Decided To Launch The Asapers Project.


Most of you who've been following me for some time have probably already been able to understand how and why the Asapers project has been brought to life. However, even though I have mentioned many of these things prior to this, I have never discussed or talked about the entire thing in one article. This is what I decided to do today. I want you to understand why and my reasons for doing this, even though we have many other outstanding initiatives already. Hopefully, with this article, I will be able to explain why I decide to not side with these other awesome initiatives we have, and why I've decided to launch my own.


"Leadership is not managing people. No one wakes up and wants to be managed. We want to be lead by good leaders."

In all honesty, even though I truly want to take credit for such an awesome and true statement, I can't. Simon Sinek is the person I heard saying this. I got it from him and I still love that sentence.

I recommend watching this video.


Here's another motivational video I recommend:


I am not a leader, even though I have experience from being a Team Leader. I have worked as a salesperson for several years on many different companies and I've also worked as a team leader. I want to be nothing more than a person who brings value, motivation and encouragement forward, and for many others, that's qualities they see in a Leader. I want to motivate others to do things outside of their comfort zone. Just like I've been doing many times myself. Both on Steemit but also in life.

I've been having many ups and downs in life. Two of the most life changing, crucial and most horrifying downs in my life was when my father passed away. He died in front of me when I was 27 years old... And I could do nothing about it. Since that day, I've been suffering from mental illness. I suffer from panic attacks, anxiety and depression. I've been on and off a wide range of different medications and I've been talking to therapists and psychologists.

No matter how low or bad I feel or have felt, life goes on. Sad but also true. I've lost friends. Many of the people I had around me gave up on me... And I don't blame them.

  • I have always blamed myself for all of that.

I have blamed myself for not being able to save my father. I have blamed myself for not being good enough or strong enough to deal with certain things and I've often called myself a loser. Even though I have never given up entirely on my life, I've been close more than a handful of times. However, I don't talk about taking my own life. I'm not talking about suicide. I'm just talking about giving up. To let life slip away between my fingers. - And to settle with it.

However, I have never given up entirely, because I know I'm worth more than that.. And I know that my father would never have wanted me to give up. And this has also brought me many ups in life too, even though it has been hard to clearly see it from time to time.

These are the key elements for my asapers project. My past and my future will be decided by myself and no others, and I will do whatever it takes to get where I want. Steemit on the other hand, is slightly different than that. It doesn't really matter what you want on Steemit... What matters is often who you know but more importantly, what you do.

My passion to teach, educate, help, motivate and support those around me, is also why I've decided to go back to School. I've just recently sent my application and I'll need approximately $1300 USD to be eligible new Student loans, so I can afford to study. I want to focus on teenagers who suffers from mental illness and I want to heal the world a little bit so to speak. That's my dream and my goals in life. To make a difference. To help another person to live their life to the fullest. All of these things, my ups and downs. My past and my future. My dreams, goals and milestones. All of that brought life to project Asapers.

With @fulltimegeek paving the way for many of us, I took his actions to heart and once I was able to truly realize how awesome he is and how much his generosity empowers the whole community, it was easy to know what I had to do. Due to all the amazing things FTG has done for me personally, I felt obligated to pave the way for others, even though this is something I've been trying to do for a very long time. With the delegation from FTG, I got the chance of doing this easier and with more impact. Suddenly, my voice was worth something.

As soon as I realized that I had the chance to empower others, to pay it forward and to inspire people on a whole other level than before, the idea behind this project started to grow.


I knew from the start, that I would never be able to delegate as much Steem Power as @fulltimegeek. I knew that I wouldn't be able to delegate to as many users. I also knew that my project wouldn't be able to compete with other similar initiatives...

  • So I never thought of that.

I was looking for something new and something that I was capable of doing. Something I could do, to help others. And instead of delegating more Steem Power to @minnowsupport (which I already delegate too), I decided to do the same thing FTG does, with some changes.

I decided to find five Steemians I would launch this "experiment" with.

At first, I thought this would be almost impossible... There's an endless pool of talented authors on Steemit... But I don't want to delegate SP to a dolphin. The tiny amount of Steem Power I was about to delegate wouldn't make a difference, and that's why I believed this would be very difficult. I had to find people who would appreciate the gesture more than the actual amount of SP. I had to find people who had the same vision as me, without talking to them. I had to see what others might have overlooked.

Long story short, I decided to delegate to 6 people instead of 5. Instead of delegating 500 SP, I'll go with 650 SP in total and the people I will delegate are:

@braxton101, @frankabelle, @insideoutlet, @shai-hulud, @wdougwatson, @yogajill

3 of them have already got delegations and the others will receive them no later than in 6 days from now. @shai-hulud @wdougwatson got 100 SP each. @braxton101 received 50 SP one week ago, but I'll delegate him an additional 100 SP in the nearest future.


Why These People?

So, the question is, why did I decide to delegate to these people instead of others? - I can probably name a dozen other Steemians within 11 seconds who I believe deserves a delegation too... But I chose these 6 instead of others.

They don't have super-high reputation scores. They don't have several hundreds or thousands of Steem Power. Truth to be told, they aren't even the most active Steemians I know... But I decided to go with these people despite of that.

I saw the value in each of them. I noticed their efforts and I saw potential.

I don't want them to become extremely active and make hundreds of post per week. I don't want them to vote on 400 articles per day... And I don't want them to stop self voting because I've delegated some Steem Power.

In fact, I encourage them to do exactly what they have been doing until now. I don't want to change them... I want them to work with me, to make a difference on the platform. To give when others doesn't. To cherish where others won't. To encourage when others are struggling. To motivate when others turn their backs on them.

  • I want them to be good leaders...
    And I know they will become splendid role models.

That's my long haul goal with this project. To create something new with a group of fantastic individuals who all have the qualities that I seek. And this is only the beginning. I already have a handful of other Steemians I intend to delegate Steem Power further on, so this project is definitely something I want to be successful and I'm willing to put my money where my mouth is, to make this possible.

We Will Do Great Things.


The Original Asapers image is from @shai-hulud.
You can read his article here: A.S.A.P.ers Abundance Abounds.


Thank You For The Support!

Sort:  

Clap clap clap to you @hitmeasap

Firstly I really want to express my sympathy for the death of your dad at that age of yours. I know is not easy to lost someone that's so dear to our heart. Am not here to preach to you to continue with life because you've taken the boldness since then and I believe the legacy he left behind cannot be forgotten.

As regards Asapers project. You just proved that you have the growth of this community and the people in mind. You believe that ,you don't have to be a whale before you can help the minnows up through delegating of SP in order to help their journey. It just shows that you are committed towards moving this community forward just like @fulltimegeek that gave out all his SP as selfless service.

You might not know what you've done to this community through this project but I believe you've done what some will not do. Am seeing a whale in you soon and your project will definitely expand more than you expected. Keep the fire burning.

Regards @funkylove

Thank you very much for your awesome comment. I won't reply to any of the things about my father, but I truly appreciate your comment. Thank you for that.

Am seeing a whale in you soon and your project will definitely expand more than you expected. Keep the fire burning.

I don't know about whale, I don't think I'll ever be one... But I do appreciate your enthusiasm. A dolphin though, might be possible in the future. Until then, I'll do everything I can to continue to help and motivate others around me. :)

"speak the truth even if your voice shakes"...I forget the author of that
one of the things I like about you without knowing you very much at all, is that you are real
and being real on here or anywhere is in short supply
b.a.

Thank you @battleaxe, and I know what you mean. I've been here long enough to see some weird things too... :D

"I am not perfect but I'm definitely not fake."

A Leader should have these three characteristics !

  • They should have the ability to motivate their subordinates and encourage them to produce to their best ability.
  • They should be able to organize properly!
  • They should have the ability to encourage people to create and be creative.

I don't think you miss any of the three.
Do you ?

Well... You have a point. I give you that. :D

Haha.. Try and make more people like you. That's the best way one can make this platform better and better everyday !

You know, I don't admit this often, and getting ready to type this has me shaking just that fast.
I was put on SSRIs, they made me suicidal, so I got off them too fast and went bat shit crazy for a while. A long while. Permanent damage was done to my adrenals, I can tell by what my body does but no one will even do a physical exam. They labeled me crazy and nothing I say or do will ever be taken seriously by any doctor ever again. I have learned to be a damn fine herbalist and alternative healer because I had to. The fine papers they will hand you upon graduation will give you a license to ignore all the "crazy" people who come to you for help. I wish you the very best on your educational journey, but if you wish to be a healer that degree may be a big impediment for you to overcome one day.
Peace and love, my friend.

Thank you very much for your comment, I appreciate it.

The passion I have to help those who're suffering from mental illness comes deep down, on a personal level and the passion came to life after being treated like a crazy person myself. With no one to believe the things I said, I often felt lonely, and still does, but I've managed to handle things a little bit easier nowadays... And much of that is due to myself.

The reason I want to become a treatment assistant, and why I want to study this, is so that I can get a job and help these people when no one else will or does. I believe that my personal experience will show and I also believe that the ones I can and will help, will see that. I won't hide behind knowledge from a book. I'll use my own experience instead. That is also why I believe that I can make a difference.

If I did not believe you would be WONDERFUL at helping people, I would not have bothered to say what I did. Just never forget.... hugs!

Great Ideology behind Asapers, I really love this initiative and i hope you get more SP so you can delegate more.

Thank you very much. I delegated an additional 100 SP to one of the @asaper members a few minutes ago. She totally deserves it for everything she does. Now, I hope I'll be able to get my hands on even more SP in the near future so I can delegate a bunch more!

Wow, that's great to know, I believe she will be excited to receive it
This is the thing

I hope I'll be able to get my hands on even more SP in the near future so I can delegate a bunch more!

The more we lay our hands on the more we can give, I can weight to give more to credo community.

That was a really powerful post. I really enjoyed that second video about being a champion and how they won the game after the speech. I have never watched that video before so much appreciated.

Yeah, that video is really, really powerful and awesome. I love it and I've watched it, probably 104 times or so. :D

Hello how are you, @hitmeasap. I am interested in your project and want to know how to get involved.

I have found many links claiming to explain the project, but none actually do. How does one join or get involved? Thank you

Hello @notconvinced!

@asapers is one of my recently projects. I have hand picked 6 Steemians I delegate Steem Power to and we've built our own little "community". The entire team will work towards the growth of Steemit in ways other Curation guilds and similar projects are doing currently, but our focus and approach will be differently even though we will still operate similar.

There is no way to get involved as it is today. The only way is to be hand picked by me and also to be delegated some Steem Power by me.

Your generosity is greatly appreciated. How do you find the content you endorse? I notice you have your own tag, but I see many unrelated posts in it. Is using this tag the key?

I understand you as saying that it's a new platform and you are still ironing out the details. I get that and again, kudos to you for working to build community.

I think it's good that you explained this. It was a little bit of a mystery to me why you started this project and why is exists, but this helped a lot.

Thank you. I'm glad it helped. :)

Thanks for sharing your information and I like the mean of TEAM i do not know about This but feeling glad to learn from your post it new thing for me I am already following you, keep it up

Great post keep it up

@hitmeasap, very good post you

This post has received a 3.15 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @hitmeasap