Can manual curation be more rewarding than self-voting?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


Assuming that you have 500 SP with a 100% vote worth $ 0.14. This results in 9.8 $ per week, when voting 10 times a day. You could then receive:

  • 4.9 SBD and 1.26 SP (20.60 US$) each week, if you upvote every 2.4h your own comment,
  • 3.7 SBD (12.12 US$) each week, if you sell your vote at https://smartsteem.com/,
  • 3.84 SBD (12.57 US$) each week, if you sell your vote at https://www.minnowbooster.net/,
  • 3 Steem (11.64 US$) each week, if you delegate your SP on the market at https://www.minnowbooster.net/,
  • up to 1 Steem (3.88 US$) if you vote for maximum curation award per week. 1 Steem is already hard to reach.

When is active curation more worth than self voting?
S1 is the Steem price in US$ and S2 is the SBD price in US$.

4.9 * S2 + 1.26 S1 = 4.9*3.27 + 1.26*3.88 US$ = 20.60 US$

The 4.9 SBD for self-voting is scaled with S1/3.88*S2, where 3.88 is the current Steem price. The 1.26 SP is not scaled. Curation is more worth than self-voting when the inequality is true:

S1 > 4.9 * (S1/3.88)*S2 + 1.26*S1
1 > 4.9/3.88*S2 + 1.26
1 > 1.26 *S2 + 1.26

As this inequality is never true, self-voting will always win. This is not good for the platform. It is not a solution to forbid or punish self-voting, as such measures can be passed over by cross-voting with two accounts.

What to change

So I think that the reward split should be changed, such that curation can be more worth than self-voting.
For example, when the reward split is fixed to 66% SBD and 33% SP payout:

S1 > 6.53 * (S1/3.88)*S2 + 0.84*S1
1 >  0.84 * S2 + 0.84
1.19 > S2

and the SBD price is below 1.19 US$, manual curation can be more rewarding than self-voting.

What do you think?


image source

Sort:  

One thing your equations do not allow for: curation is more fun than self-upvoting.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

@holger80, I think that no matter how you slice and dice it, something ought to change. Maybe if self-voting always gave you zero reward for that vote (including when self-voting comments) it would have an impact for the better. I, for one, would love it if it were impossible to upvote yourself for any reason. I can't tell you how many times I have accidentally hit the upvote button on my own comment or post while on mobile due to a lag or something wierd in the screen response. It matters a lot to me when I am saving my votes for my Curation Trail Project, and I accidentally waste a vote on myself.

I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions for the @mitneb Curation Trail Project. It will be featured in the @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report for 07 FEB 2018.

Cheers!

Thanks a lot! I think there will be some changes, steemit is still very young and there are many people which care about steemit :).

That is an interesting notion indeed and if i wasn't community building maybe that would be the way to go as it seems more effective

Thank you for doing the math. I was just thinking about this yesterday and about should I or should I not start self-voting. For now, my decision is no.
I am grateful for this post :)

You've convinced me to only upvote myself!

Kidding. This is a legitimate problem. On the flipside, though, I get the impression that reaching out and interacting with other steemians, upvoting others, encourages return upvotes. Gift economy is a good way to look at this site. So, theoretically, if you build up a large enough network where people are sharing, curation could outweigh self-votes.

haha I was about to say something similar, but in truth that's a bit disappointing that it works that way as curation helps the community as a whole I think.

That's true. I'm trying to do this.

But you can build a small python bot, that creates comments and upvotes them. So you can recieve maximal rewards by doing nothing. This worries me...

I personally wouldn't want the author/curation paidout to change but got no solution to the problem neither...
but I'm sad that a few days ago my upvote was worth 0.02$ and now is only worth 0.01$ :(

This is a massive calculation am trying to balance my self so i give it a good try @holger80

useful postings.

Hello, you received a boost courtesy of @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone. Need an instant boost? Send 0.200 SBD with your full post url as the memo to @steemdunk for an upvote. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Nicely calculated, indeed educative and eye opener of cause. Let's keep educating ourselves on steemit to keep growing this wonderful community.. Steemit and be more calculative like my friend

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by holger80 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 40 (2/9/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

I checked now, and honest to goodness, my self up vote was on! And I immediately turned it off, as I do not like the idea of promoting myself.

If what I have to say does not deserve an up-vote in the eyes of the reader, then so be it. I like rewarding all signs of effort on the side of posters and commentators, especially where they sincerely contribute to productive engagement, as opposed to self enrichment or self-aggrandizement.

.