How Do Steemit Payouts Really Work❓

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

So people keep asking me how do Steemit payouts actually work? Then I told them I don't really know (lol), then I told them what I already knew and looked very deep into the topic to make this guide in order to help new Steemians (of course for old too) to get some knowledge.

Before I'll start with the details I would like to point out that all of your payouts are based on the current value of two coins: SBD and Steem.

So right now you can pick between 3 different options for rewards on your posts:

1.'Decline Payout' - which means you don't want to get any payment from your post.

2.'50%/50%' (Currently Recommended) - this one is a little more complicated so let's do the math:
Let's say you got 100$ worth upvotes on your post. First, 25% which means 25$ will split between the upvoters (including you if you did) based on the Steem Power they voted with, the more SP you voted with, the more reward you will get from the 25%.
Now, 75% which means 75$ will get to you and will split to SBD and SP. 75% / 2 = 37.5%.
37.5% will just become 37.5$ SBD.
37.5% SP will be converted into actual SP based on the current value of the Steem coin. Let's say that Steem worth 3$, do 1 / 3 = 1/3. Now multiply 1/3 with 37.5$ = 12.5 SP.

3.'Power Up 100%' (not recommended right now)- which means all of the post's rewards will be converted to SP.
Let's we have a 100$ worth post here too. 25%, which means 25$ will get to the post's upvoters which will be converted to SP according to the current value of Steem. If Steem's worth is 3$, the math is 1/3 * 25$ = 8.33. 8.33 SP will split between the post's upvoters according to their SP level which they voted with.
The 75$ that left goes to you and the math will be: 1/3 * 75 = 25SP.

It's actually pretty simple when you get it so I really recommend to actually read this article and understand how it works.

Want to learn more? Check out some of my previous posts!

Resteems would be welcomed!

If you have any questions or requests, let me know in the comments!

Sort:  

Very informative post, can you create a guide explaining how the voting system works?

No problem, but can you be more specific?
What part of the voting system?

I don't understand what you're voting for exactly.

Hi there. Thanks for the info.

Thanks so much i never really knew this..

I'm glad you have written this guide as I have been wondering how it is worked out and how the value of rewards fluctuates with the price. Thanks for making this post.