Voting service experiment an utter failure

in #steemit6 years ago

scamalert.jpg

I decided to stop the voting service.  I did get to read some really good posts but most were just scammers.  I received many votes for 6 day old posts.  Some posts look like they were auto generated text while others were just a single images. It also seemed that there were owners of multiple accounts.

When I decided to do this I wanted to be able to reward quality posters. At first I was excited to see what people had posted. As a little time went on I began to dread sifting through the garbage.

For those that submitted great content , this post does not apply to you.

For those of you who believe that you deserve a refund please post your link to the post you submitted and the amt of sbd you sent in the comments below. Let some other community members read your posts. If others users believe you deserve a refund I will gladly send it.

I am so disappointed in Steemit right now.

Sort:  

It is a pity that you are disappointed ;((
Please check the entries of my community @Ukrainian.trail
Unfortunately, I noticed too late that you are turning off your service and send some SBD
Thank for your support!

Ah well... that is such a shame! I used to look forward to your votes! As soon as I post something that I want to get noticed, I would use @smartsteem and then send an SBD to you, coz I knew you were genuinely reading.
And that is something very rare on steemit, especially for people running a voting service. They are just bots. Sometimes I do not want to use any voting service since it feels so much like masturbation (just pleasure yourself by buying votes for your own posts).. no real sex (interaction).
That was a fun analogy to make 😂

But you have to use the voting bots if you want to get something noticed. Like I started this tag #mondaymixtape and I want people to notice it and hence been using good amount of SBDs to bring it in the hot sections at least.

I totally agree with you and respect you for thinking and starting this service in the first place. I loved the idea and guess was one of the first ones to use it.
But there are just too many scammers now on Steemit.
You should read this Open Letter to Steemit Inc. from @papa-pepper and the comments people have posted.
Unless big changes like those happen, this scamming shit isn't going to stop.

But I would also request you to look at the good side of Steemit coz I know very well there are some great content creators here (and communities like @thealliance and others) and they absolutely deserve your attention and curation ✨

thank you for your comment. I have not given up. Scamming is a community problem and we can figure out a way to solve things. I will continue to support @thealliance and other steemit users

That's sad news but understandable. Would you consider making it a more exclusive service? Like 2 SBD to register then people are white listed for good content etc?

@stehaller definitly deserves a refund for his post, his article on the great german libertarian writer and philosopher, roland baader, is really very valuable. And he deserves a refund for his other great post also.
https://steemit.com/deutsch/@stehaller/roland-baaders-traum
https://steemit.com/deutsch/@stehaller/mein-weg-zum-guten-staatsbuerger

@i-am-legion I did send you 1 SBD for the following post without getting an upvote or refund:
https://steemit.com/deutsch/@stehaller/mein-weg-zum-guten-staatsbuerger
and 1 SBD for the following post without getting an upvote or refund:
https://steemit.com/deutsch/@stehaller/roland-baaders-traum
I did put a lot of work in this posts and lots of people liked it as you can see by the number/amount of upvotes I received.
So I think I definitely deserve a refund.

I do not read your language but I belive that you have put alot of work into your posts. I will send you your refund

Thanks a lot. I always liked your service. Too bad you had to stop it.
But I totally understand your decision.

you definitly deserves a refund!

ich habe es unten an i am legion kurz begründet

Danke lieber @balte. Ich hab mein Geld zurückbekommen.

Congratulations @i-am-legion! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You deserve a refund.

good .. thanks friends

please let me know how much sbd you sent and when you sent it. I do not have a record of your request

what friends mean to send. I am less lax about this. please tell me friends

I had never thought of that angle to offering a vote service. I would imagine every vote for crap was difficult rewarding those posts. I hope when you look over mine that you see some work went into them. There was a total of 3 sbd sent for votes that were missed. I understand now why. If you look over the record and want to refund that would be fine. But since you spent so much on sp figured it would be better for you to use that to vote. If you could vote what you think worthy and keep the sbd that would be cool. Thanks

Just noticed reading other comments that you may not have access to requests. Listed is what I requested. Again no need to refund if open to voting what you can of existing posts that can still be voted on.

4 days ago Transfer 0.500 SBD toi-am-legion https://steemit.com/health/@potplucker/meloxicam-7-5
6 days ago Transfer 0.500 SBD toi-am-legion https://steemit.com/poker/@potplucker/the-loose-passive-poker-player-refresher
6 days ago Transfer 0.500 SBD toi-am-legion https://steemit.com/poker/@potplucker/update-chp-on-hitbtc-exchange-and-quick-summary-of-coinpoker
6 days ago Transfer 0.500 SBD toi-am-legion https://steemit.com/poker/@potplucker/tight-aggressive-poker-player-refresher
9 days ago Transfer 1.000 SBD toi-am-legion https://steemit.com/poker/@potplucker/the-loose-passive-poker-player-refresher

Thanks for providing this service when it lasted. I appreciate your initiative and I understand your decision to stop the service as there are always those who lack of content yet want to have high valued post. This really does not add value to quality articles that steemit wants to reward. I am glad that you considered the articles that I have written so far as some of the quality ones as you mentioned on my article. Thank you for all your help in the past with appreciation!

That really is is shame, I actually emulated your service with a few tweaks when creating my own. I agree that the scamming and plagiarism is out of control and that is why I manually read, check content and if they are scammers, I keep the funds, flag, and put them on blast.

Enough is enough.

I do not catch all of them, and some of them still slip through, but I have caught and flagged several so far. I would love to work with you in combating this.

Congratulations @i-am-legion! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Just stumbled here somehow... did you exit steemit completely? I feel like its equivalent to our life cycle of childhood excitement, then teen young adult becoming aware of the world and we become cycincal , then we try and fix it and get excited again, then realize we can't fix it and become nihilistic haha I'm just at the tail end of a negative streak, and I've just been keeping my circle fairly small to keep my negativity down.

Congratulations @i-am-legion! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @i-am-legion! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!