You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You can use Steem to pay for pretty much anything worldwide - but nobody does!

in #steemit8 years ago

You know, I'm going to consider this more seriously now. Others have already pointed out that nobody holds their Steem (it loses value quickly due to inflation).. BUT I think I'd like one just to show people in my daily life that YES this can work just like real money.
Most people are still pretty uneducated about digital currency (myself included - I bought $10 worth of Bitcoin in January, for example), and in my sharing of the Steemit concept (I have personally referred 6 people so far) I find people are extremely skeptical. We all know the first thing people ask is "but is it real money? can you spend it?" Being able to break the card out and say "Yes" would go a long way towards giving the platform itself credibility and creating interest. I might've just talked myself into it...

Sort:  

Great to hear! Let us know if you need any help along the way! :D