You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Winter Update: 2017 reflection, our Vision Statement and Mission, and a look forward

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I'm pretty new on here, so not 100% clear on the issue with bandwidth. From what I can ascertain reading your comment and others in this thread, it sounds like if you just start with the 15 SP that's delegated when you first create an account, you somehow run out of enough SP to participate on the platform at some point. Is that correct?

I've not even been on here 2 weeks yet, and I actually did add $100 of STEEM that I powered up within just a few days of joining, so perhaps I would have encountered this problem had I not done that. As it is, I see on steemworld that I have about 75% of my voting power available right now, not really having done much upvoting today (a couple articles and maybe 3 comments). It says I'll be at 100% voting power in another 30 hours. I assume that means if I don't upvote anything else.

When I do upvote these last few days, I see that I either add .01 to someone or the vote counts but the amount given to them doesn't change at all. If I keep upvoting while my % voting power is low, will I eventually not be able to even post?

I'm sure this sounds like a very novice question, but yeah, total novice here. I have been reinvesting all my earnings in steem power in addition to the $100 I initially put in, but I'm wondering if I'll still run into problems before long. It's already a drag seeing a notice that I need to wait as much as 50 hours before I have my full SP again. I'm also wondering for some folks I'm planning to introduce to Steemit soon, who I doubt will be able to afford to invest anything in STEEM to get started, only reinvest earnings.

Does the amount of delegated SP at the start of an account not really set someone up to be able to stay on the platform if they never buy STEEM, only reinvest earnings by powering up? Is it just a matter of upvoting less often within a given day? Thanks in advance if you can take the time to answer this.