Sort:  
 7 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment

I wish my upvote was worth more, because I am very interested in your response. Since I'm not that technical that meant something to me, but I'm still a bit unclear.

How about this. Let me ask you: What would you do, if you had the ability in order to overcome this obstacle?

just guessing I would say replace Graphene with something less resource demanding. But is that like asking a mountain to move?

 7 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment

Thank you for your honest opinion, it means a lot to us.

Doesn't hurt me at all. My node doesn't need near as much memory as a service that needs to track account balances like, you know... an exchange.

If you want to see Steem stick around and even potentially make money with it, what you're doing is so short sighted it's like a dog eating its own leg because it's hungry.

Errrrr....Bittrex unavailable for 48 hours now...Automated Maintenance...

 7 years ago (edited) Reveal Comment

I have been here for more than a year, posting, commenting and curating, encouraging newbies, organised Steemit meetups....but finally decided to power down and call it a day. I only hope thete will be somrthing to trade in the next 13 weeks...I have put in a lot of work for that SP. Would like to get something out

This is very valuable information @loki/@elfspice. I've been following you from way back and have always valued your honest opinions even though they don't praise Steem always( neither do mine ). We have to be critical and not just bury our heads into the sand. There are only few people with as long history with steem as you, and even fewer who really know the technology and can critique it. I know I can't do that.

So a big thank you for making this comment! I've also noticed the increased mainteance rate in Steemd and have wondered what the hell is the issue with exchanges and Steem. I'd love to hear more about your opinions and findings on this.

You might not at times feel welcome here, but nevertheless, you're an valuable member that has the best interest of whole rather than few in mind. Sadly that isn't rewarded here. That's at least mine perception of you, hopefully I'm not wrong!

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

I'm not native english speaker nor a professional in any way at computer science so I don't understand all the details and terms you're trying to explain and use. This is something I'll try to fix with further education and I can always come back to this answer to fully understand it at some point in time.

I did however understand(or did I?) that it's not wise to store every post as plain text data and it rather should be coded into a string that could be searched,processed and stored efficiently.

Thank you for the detailed answer!

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

Interesting. So majority of people isn't informed enough to see this problem at all and those who know aren't voicing it.

It's starting to feel Steem was just hastily put together using tools available and without that much thinking for the long term (+5 years and beyond).

Doesn't really make me want to put money to EOS at all.

How familiar are you with Ethereum? I'd like to hear your view on it.

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

I remember reading about pruning and ethereum in a same sentence before, they must be working on it.

Only time will tell, but there's really no returning back for Dan if he leaves EOS shortly after, but at that point he can buy an island or two for himself so it'll be fine.

And yes, Dan always mentions how he can spit out these different projects out fast and then he leaves the rest to fix them or to keep together. Bitshares seems to be holding fine though.

So do you think there's any blockchain that's doing "it" right now or have we yet to see such a project? Will any of these projects be running in 10 years.