You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Transitional Housing Network... (Church And State, You Have Failed This City!!)

in #steemit6 years ago

This is a very good idea. Ambitious, but a good one.

I think one of the the least acknowledged aspects of the problem of homelessness is how demoralizing and alienating it can be. If you showed people they had access to a welcoming community that cared to help them in the physical realm, and with their issues, that would really be a step forward beyond a lot of what already exists to help people in those situations.

Many people end up homeless for mental health reasons or after huge losses in life, and don't have any emotional support, much less any physical support. I think you're onto something. I would definitely support an active program by whatever means I could.

I'll be watching to see how this takes off. And I do wish you the best in making it happen.

Sort:  

Thank you, the encouragement goes a looooong way! You are so right about trauma and emotional needs... I have been divorced for 13 years, and have been less and less functional ever since...

I wonder if we could pitch to the steemit creator, for a 0.001 'tax' off the top of all payouts that could go toward worthy causes like this? What a pipedream! But that would certainly add incentive for those who want to help but are trying to survive themselves...

I know. I've seen divorce all but destroy people. They definitely don't come out of it functioning the same. They cope. Some very poorly.

You might could. Some way for all of us to be involved to the degree that we're capable would definitely be a good idea.