If STEEM was worth $0, would you still be here?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Serious question, if STEEM was worth $0.00, would you still be here?

Would you still participate?

I hear people say "well you make more than you made on Facebook". This is very true but does the platform offer much if you remove the rewards?

If you did stay, what would change?

If STEEM is going to survive and grow, the answer to the above question has to be yes for the majority of the users.

Sort:  

That depends on one thing, at least for me: Will my readers stay?
I've been a writer for a long time, but it's hard to get exposure if you don't have a large publisher backing you. Steem has given me the opportunity to reach people that are reading my stories and science posts and interact with me based on those. Without interaction, I could just quit.

Another thing are the communities, especially steemSTEM. They're wonderful people with whom I interact a lot over the day, not just via Steem. If they all vanished, what keeps me here?

The money is nice, no question. I feels good to earn money by writing what you love. But the community is what I'm here for, the people, the interaction, the feedback.

If STEEM dropped to 0, I'd stay - as long as the rest of my circle did too.

Speaking as a block producer: With the current amount of network utilization it would not make short term economic sense to support the network. But if STEEM's value were 0, the amount of people using it would greatly diminish. Resource requirements would be vastly reduced to the point where much less expensive servers could handle it. If there was a chance of recovering it's value, it would be a very sound economic decision to ride out the storm. STEEM's value fell to about $0.06 USD once and those who didn't quit then have been rewarded well.

As a person, the non-economic qualities of the blockchain are great positives to me: censorship resistance and decentralization of a text/informational database are cool and a useful thing to have on the internet when tyrannical governments are leveraging the internet more and more to maintain control of their citizens victims.

does the platform offer much if you remove the rewards?

It's a valid question that has been asked multiple times. The glaring issue is that Steemit is the most-used front end for the Steem network. It is this way because it was the first, and for a long time the only, usable front-end. So it has that inertia. It also is the place where most people come to get an account, adding even more stickiness.

In April 2016, the Steemit website was functional (barely sometimes :P) but it felt a bit like a placeholder. It was very spartan. Only basic features were implemented. The problem is that 2 years later, though enough features have been implemented to make it just usable enough, it's still like that early placeholder.

Some important features have even been taken away. The original concept of Steem+Steemit was to be a bit of a Reddit-killer. But one day, without too much thought given to it, direct external link posts were removed from the Steemit UI. I think the reason cited was "security." While the stakes are a bit higher than Reddit when it comes to account security, I don't think that argument holds water. Making this change has had an extreme effect on Steem user culture and expectations. It's turned what could have been a Reddit-killer into a blogging site. The culture is still poisoned with an expectation of its users to produce unique content, which is not something everybody actually wants to do. This has limited the scope and horizons of Steem and undoing the damage is a slow process.

Every time someone points out to the people that influence its development that UX for Steemit is important, beyond posting rewards, it seems like it gets shrugged off. Or even worse, excuses are made that Steemit/Condenser (the front-end software's generic name) is only meant to be a bare-bones reference implementation. This ignores the fact that it is the most used front end and has the inertia to continue to be used.

I would probably buy me a few million steem and enjoy being a real whale.

Since I am always calculating with steem being able to stop having any worth at any moment, that would be a sad thing but I would definitely stay.

Yes I would 😊 I just believe that the upvote system will create a better and more valuable content in the long run.
I know steemit can go its way without the nip peeks I offer at @peekbit, but I just like to extend here what I do in ‚real life‘ as a girl: bring joy to the guys around me by not hiding what they really like to see anyway - and it always comes back to me. Do it’s already payed anyway 😊 @peekbit
Logo tiny.jpg

that‘s why we love you @peekbit. And for your nice views you offer... really artful... 👍🏼

thank you 😊 @peekbit

Absolutely, sure the money was the thing that got me here, but I don't make that much anyway. Apart from that though, if the money was not here I would stay, it is far better than facebook or twitter, you can engage in conversations, get involved in the many different topics and if there isn't any topic here that doesn't interest you then you must be dead.
You have any topic you can think off, hobbies, pets, animals and more, but more than that, you can really get involved, not like fb & twitter where you're restricted on word count.
Then you have the discord chat, the poker league and much more, I've never seen a social media platform that has so much potential, even if there was no money this place is going to get huge

Probably only on DMania.
Because there are good memes about the media and crypto.

But i guess i wouldn't stay on the site for more.

welp maybe for the nature photos.
These are great.
I see Steemit more as a place where people make money
or they just want to share theyr experiences or theyr skills.

But still i love 9GAG because there are actually good memes that make me laugh.

You raise a really good question that someone needs to pause to ponder on.

I think I still would. But would probably spend less time. There are a lot of great people dishing out great content. It's fantastic , but so was facebook in the early days.

Hopefully, this won't go that route.

To be honest, if steem was worth 0$, i.e, there will be no rewards, this platform would be more like twitter, full of trolls and funny memes.

If I would stay?

Depends on what kind of people will be still here and what kind of content they will post.

that is exactly what i was thinking too

I would say yes and remain in hopes everyone would ditch FB and move here. Regardless.

Anonymity is dead in FB. Not that I am trying to hide my self, but they go way into surveillance mode that I don't need.

Where else will I post all my awesome content?

I also consider Steemit a reservoir of alternative information not offered on any MSM sites like FB or [news].com sites. And find an incredible amount of knowledge on farming, homesteading and the likes from other users here on Steemit.. that I will keep coming back to because growing food ain't quick venture!

Im planted right where Im at on this platform! Holler!

I think at this point, I still would be here! Now that I know about the expansiveness of over a million people with all kinds of ideas , which is alot different then my FB news feed. That being said, the money definately helping my family, and I would hate to lose it. Lets say it is a very very strong cement for putting down roots.

I will still be here, and you know why? There is way less b!@#s!@t posts on steemit. And then I mean the posts like "I'm now going to the hairdresser' or "I'm now stopping in front of a traffic light " :) ... The only thing what is a pitty and I absolutly want to change is the 'friends' enrichments of whales versus a double account or friends account and the voting bots for whales. It's false competition for people who are trying so hard but never get there. But that will be all, for the rest, Let steemit be steemit... Love it !!!

Same to you
And I Really Love you steemit

Thank you very much..

if STEEM was worth $0.00, would you still be here?

I think this question is a bit of a paradox. If people are here, then STEEM will be worth something. How much is anyone’s guess, but it will be > $0.

The only way STEEM would be truly worth nothing, in my opinion, is if the blockchain was no longer operating, in which case none of us would be here, because there would be no here to be.

The Steem platform has two things that give it value (again, in my opinion):

  1. It is a place for publishing censorship-resistant content. That in itself holds value for some people, so there is a group of people who would use the Steem platform regardless of the price of STEEM. Then, the fact that it holds value for some people means that STEEM will have some value > $0.

  2. Value derived from usage of the Steem platform is distributed to the users through the STEEM token. So, even if they don’t care about the censorship-resistance piece, some people will be incentivized to use the Steem platform in order to realize the value they create with their content that traditionally all goes to companies like FB/Google/etc.

If STEEM is going to survive and grow, the answer to the above question has to be yes for the majority of the users.

I don’t think this is true. I think the growth or decline of the platform is driven by either a virtuous or vicious cycle. If the price of STEEM goes up then more people use the platform which pushes the price of STEEM up and so on. The opposite effect occurs when the price goes down.

Starting the virtuous cycle is a “chicken or the egg” problem - you can’t get more users with a low steem price and you can’t grow the steem price without more users. This is the same general problem that applies to all sites or services whose value derives from the network effect.

The way that STEEM got past this problem is that the price of STEEM was driven up along with the general blockchain/crypto craze. Money poured into the token with no regard to its actual value or how many people were using it (though it actually does better in this regard than most other cryptos, but i digress...).

So that jump-started the whole process by just magically creating the chicken, you might say (or did it magically create the egg?), and the rest followed from there.

Despite the recent decline in prices, we are still very much within the virtuous cycle. What we need to do is avoid an event that kicks off a vicious cycle to ensure the continued growth of the platform and value of the token.

Many things could kick off such a downward spiral - technical issues, changes in the overal crypto landscape, competitors, etc. Some of them we can control (like technical issues) and some we can’t. So my goal has always been to try to both bring in more users, and simultaneously try to increase the price of the token to keep the virtuous cycle going as long as possible.

Yes, I would still be here. The bonds and friendships I have made would keep me coming back and just really be enjoying myself. I may no longer put as much effort into what I write as there would be no need of hoping for votes. The platform would work more like a social media than a money grab or shady business.

I think too many people forget this is social media with monetary rewards as a bonus. Hundreds of thousands use Youtube and Twitter without rewards, so why would this place be any different for users trying to be social?

I would now that I have been here for almost a year. I wouldn't sign up though!

Yes I would

Yep..! I can be me here and my peers don't shame me much.. Can't say taht about other social media

Shame

ShameShame

Who couldn't love @klye

Dear ipromote. Do you want selling upvote?If you want sell upvote then reply me.

awesome post please give me upvote

If it happens then also i would stay in steemit because ther is always a hope in everything ...besides that it is also that steemit is totally different from other like facebook because it provides much knowledge towards us...but Facebook has much of the unwanted things in it.

Yes, I would still be here. The bonds and friendships I have made would keep me coming back and just really be enjoying myself. I may no longer put as much effort into what I write as there would be no need of hoping for votes. The platform would work more like a social media than a money grab or shady business.

I think too many people forget this is social media with monetary rewards as a bonus. Hundreds of thousands use Youtube and Twitter without rewards, so why would this place be any different for users trying to be social?

I will stay in steemit. because then someday I have money. I will invest in steam

Since the road map for steem is set for 20 years, I don't have the answer to that question yet. I'll thing about it after 20 years. By then I should have an answer already :D

I would stay. I don't make any money anyways, so I am here for the content already :)

Hola amigo @,ipromote claro que me quedaria, es muy entretenida, un abrazo.

If steem was worth $0.00 at the time I joined steemit, I probably wouldn't have joined. Initially when I joined, money was the drive. But as time went on, I noticed that making money here was not as easy as it appeared. I initially came here to raise funds for my GRE exam, but after three nonths , I've not made up to a quarter of the money.
So I decided to focus on making friends on the platform and that is not as easy as well. But I have been doing well at making friends, and left the money to just be an incentive.
So currently, if steem is $0.00, I won't leave because of the many friends I have made.

I think not. This platform markets itself as an alternative to other platforms - those that sell people's contents/data without providing compensation in return. Here, people could (I'm still new to this platform) earn money while providing contents.

I doubt it, maybe I would come visit every once in a while, but it would stop being part of my routine.

It will never happen :)

Well I could say yes sure and continue to be in hopes all and sundry would ditch FB and pass right here. Regardless.

Anonymity is useless in FB. Not that I am looking to disguise my self, but they pass way into surveillance mode that I do not want.

Where else will I submit all my terrific content material?

I additionally do not forget Steemit a reservoir of alternative statistics no longer provided on any MSM web sites like FB or [news].Com web sites. And locate an notable quantity of know-how on farming, homesteading and the likes from different users here on Steemit..

I think I still would. But would probably spend less time. There are a lot of great people dishing out great content. It's fantastic , but so was facebook in the early days.

Hopefully, this won't go that route.

Tbh i would, this platform keeps me entertained lol