You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 6 Months Heroin-Free. I'm Planning my First Skydive to Celebrate - Spare an Upvote & a Resteem? I'll Pay it Forward!

in #steemit7 years ago

My family had see the battle of overcoming addictions and the power that comes from working together as a family. It is amazing to see that support and drive.

It's important we take the time to celebrate the progress we make. Often times we get to a goal and move onto the next goal without ever even celebrating the progress.

Sort:  

Yeah, I can totally relate to that...my family went through hell because of me.

They also stuck by my side and were the only ones to NEVER give up on me - even when I'd done them so dirty or wrong while I was an addict, they STILL took me back in when I needed somewhere to stay after rehab. They helped me help myself get back on my feet.

Taking me to counseling appointments. Always there for me and taking time to talk to me. My family never gave up on me and honestly - I couldn't have done this without them. They truly made the difference in me staying clean after rehab - if it weren't for mine, I'd prolly had gone to live at a shelter and be right back at square 1 again.

So we truly have amazing families that we owe a lot of gratitude and thanks to, because they never gave up on us, even when we turned our backs on them or did them wrong.

I spent 3 months at home after rehab, and I am so happy I did. I got to rebuild my relationships with my mom, my sister, my dad, even my step father, because I was actually around, and clean, for once.

It's amazing to say now that I have great relationships with all of them, even though I live halfway across the world now (I started traveling again, and I'm currently in Thailand - my family is from New York).

As for celebrating progress - you're so right. That's something I'm really trying to work on - and I actually intend on celebrating my 6 months clean with treating myself to my first skydive ever - it's been a huge item on my bucket list for a while and I'm TERRIFIED of heights, so it'll be amazing to smash 2 things at once. I was trying to fundraise the $300 I need to do it, Steem is helping a bit but I may need to postpone until I earn some more.

Cheers!

I know you will see the success I have no doubt in my mind! I want to help you see this happen @fatpandadesign. DO a post about what you need to fundraise and I will help spread the good word.

shifting gears, Its crazy to see the value in a support structure to provide accountability and motivation to make success toward being and staying clean from any addiction. My brother would benefit so much from hearing your story. I need to get him on here to help him find others that can better relate to him as you can have that connection on a level that others would not have unless having been down in the trenches if you feel what I am saying.

I actually already started a post earlier brother - it's on my feed. Probably 6 or 7 in, only has like $1.40 raised so far or whatever. If I break the $300 mark and go skydiving - I'm actually going to MASSIVELY pay it forward.

I'm going to donate a $1000 custom designed website to 1 SteemIt community member who needs 1 (portfolio for their work, ecommerce site for new business launch, etc).

So if the community shows me some goodwill, in return I basically give away 3x what I get. And I'm okay with that, because I want to pay it forward!

And I definitely hear what you mean...please, share my story with your brother. You can also find it on Medium.

I can definitely connect and relate with those that have been in the trenches...we've fought those battles...many of my brothers never made it out. So many overdoses. I was nearly one of them.

If you ever need to talk man I'm here, and if you want your brother to chat with me he's absolutely welcome to. For real, I feel like the people I meet on here are like family, so I will be here for you guys like family. Anything you need. Just ask.

I'll grab that link for you too, it you don't mind resteeming and helping the cause. I'd fucking love to go skydiving to celebrate my 6 months free from heroin :D

I threw out a RESTEEM for you brother you deserve the spotlight! You will do much good with your story entering the minds of those lacking hope.

Aww man I fuckin appreciate that. Thank you kindly brother. I just hope My story will teach more people and touch more lives - if I am even able to help or inspire 1 person to get help with their addiction after reading my story, then everything I went through, was worth it. Because it may have saved someone else's life.

When we change who we are and focus on trying to be selfless, we are able to give so much more and try and be such better people. That's what I'm really trying to do in life - if I get something, I pay it forward 2x as much - I have been a taker my whole life, now it's time to start giving back and helping those who need help <3