Self upvoting.... why?

in #steemit7 years ago

I guess the title says just about all you need but its been somthing that I've wondered about since facebook started.

Why do they allow what is basicly masterbation? I guess it really doesn't matter on Facebook but here in steemit world that means more. Thats money that could have gone to the content creators or somebody else's comment. Beyond the ethics of it how does that work in steemit's algorithm to pay yourself?

It might just be that i don't fully understand where the money comes from anyway but hopfully someone out there can help explane this to us.

Thanks for reading and hopfully commenting

Sort:  

Leveling up counts votes up. If you give yourself a vote up that adds to the count. Leveling up is good.

I upvoted my own post just to see if I could. I don't understand it either, it makes little sense.

I noticed that as well... I turned it off so that I have more voting power for others! I upvote enough to get the levels anyway, so might as well give it to others! Made me feel kinda conceited when I upvoted my own stuff... Haha!

We discussed this earlier and i can see upvoting your own post but upvoting your own comments seems like it could go to better uses!

Right?! I hardly ever upvote comments anyways.

good post
plise followback..