You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'Conciliation' of the reward curves? / Die 'Versöhnung' der Reward-Kurven?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

It is also a question about what the community wants ...
For example if everybody agrees that very successful accounts should earn as much as possible, there shouldn't be any linear ending at all. If the majority thinks that earnings may be somewhat exagerated, there should be one. The earlier n² is replaced by a linear equation the more equal the rewards distribution will be. If it is too early, it will be very profitable again though to upvote own comments ...

Sort:  

I disagree.
The protocol should always be set up in such a way, that it requires the least amount of trust.

You have to define 'trust' (in what?).

Trust in the other parties, using the same protocol.

Of which parties are you talking? (Sorry for being ignorant maybe ...)

I am not too lazy to explain, but maybe you should look up 'bitcoin' and 'trustless' and maybe 'proof of work'.

Usually blockchains like bitcoin are set up as 'trustless'.

STEEM's reward system is kind of unique, but should also be set up as trust-free as possible.

Thanks for your suggestions but to be honest, for now I am too lazy to seek for additional explanations online (I consider myself as Steemit user only, who is not full time involved in blockchain related topics - but who is able to understand mathematical topics in general). Because of being too lazy to seek now, I cannot exclude the possibility that you may have a valid point in any way. :)

However based on my (limited) knowledge and mathematical understanding I see no reason why n^2 followed by a linear equation would be more easily exploitable by abusers than n^2 alone (which is what counts in my eyes).