Orange Juice With Pulp and Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

This is my premiere entry for the Steemit experiment. I'm half-awake, blogging on my couch in my underwear and reporting for duty. Should I write clickbait headlines, side-blog, virtue signal, and generally re-affirm the popular opinion du jour to earn that sweet, sweet crypto?

I imagine Steemit, or any mob, will reward low-effort contributions that confirm people's preexisting biases but I hope I'm wrong. Maybe it will be more monetarily rewarding to provide high-quality content. How should I contribute to this community? With op-eds, slash-fiction, ICO hyping? No, I should just affect funny voices while playing video games. Do what works, right?

I hope this forum or platform model brings out the best. What if this is the new model for credible journalism? Just as we all know that Donald Trump is a fascist and Hillary Clinton is crooked, we all know from the last twelve months (or 577 years) that the world needs better reporting. Can Steemit incentivize the next generation of Pulitzer winners? That's the optimistic vision I would advance.

I have a lot of questions. Maybe that's my part to play on Steemit: philosopher. Or, maybe I'll try a bit of everything and see what is responded to most positively. On Facebook, my most engaging post was about penis size in art history*. That's the sort of thing that really motivates people to click a link...

Well, now, I think we're both sufficiently awake. And, we have lots of questions to answer.

Good Morning, Steemit. I'll be better dressed for our next engagement.

*. Here's the link, so you don't have to send me a private message or taint your Google history: https://qz.com/689617/why-do-greek-statues-have-such-small-penises/

Sort:  

Welcome

Welcome to Steem @jalvey I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @jalvey!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Hey! Welcome to the Steemit Community! I wish you a great time on the platform, hope you'll make many friends and I can't wait to see your content. I have followed your blog, you can check mine as well and if you like my content don't forget to drop a follow. Have a nice day & Steem on!

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprised you on August 1 ;)

Congratulations @jalvey! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!