The Power Of Commenting On Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

source

Some time ago, I wrote a fast comment to this post:

source

Screen Shot 2017-08-23 at 15.55.55.png

As you can see, it paid of handsomely. I guess some bots went amok or something.
Anyway, for new users, Steemit can be daunting, and writing a good post can be challenging, especially if your English is not that good.

Luckily, all of us have some specific knowledge about a field, e.g. science, philosophy, gardening, fish keeping etc. We are in a way all geeks. Steemit has something for everyone!

The best advice I would give to new users is to start using your specific knowledge about a field by commenting on posts related to that field. You can also learn a lot by reading posts!

Some general 'rules':
1. upvote the post.

2. your comment should be specific and ad value (you can be critical, though) to the post (no follow for follow, please upvote me etc.)

Good comments tend to give an upvote from the poster.
If you give good comments that will also give you a bigger reader base on your own blog and more upvotes later on, due to reciprocity.

In social psychology, reciprocity is a social rule that says people should repay, in kind, what another person has provided for them; that is, people give back (reciprocate) the kind of treatment they have received from another.

Even though you could argue that commenting is perhaps too profitable on Steemit, imho good comments is almost just as important as good posts.
Like ying and yang: The one cannot survive without the other.

Happy commenting!

Thank you for your time and attention. Steem on!

U5dsiK9dDnSdqJgM686MkfG1kTEKJVe.gif

Sort:  

Wow that is one hefty paycheck for a comment
I haven't experienced anything like this despite my 5000+ comments.
Comments do have grave power and when you make them meaningful it doesn't only get the creator of the post to upvote you but sometimes it leads them to head over to your blogs and see what they are like which always warms my heart.
Great tips and advice @janusface! :)

Looks like you've been off-Steem for a few days. Good to have you back.

Your point on the yin-yang is spot on - we need a greater balance between content creators and readers. As of now it seems like we've got too many of the former compared to the latter.

Yes, exactly!

I joined steem about 2 months ago just made a introduction post and wanted to look for some interesting people with passion about different topics.
What I like about Steem is that people also can have a voice and some impact even they are not world class bloggers.
you can comment,resteem- you can vote or flag a post.
that are a lot of ways to support the platform and the community members.

That is true:)

Wow. I used to get a lot of upvotes on comments earlier. But these days I rarely get any. Perhaps I've just been commenting shitty things.

Frankly, I suspect it just was just some bot algos that made it:)

@janusface Here we can seen mostly those who commenting first they have mostly chances to get rewards.
The success also depends on the way you comment on a post. If you just leave a Thank you or that was a great post note this will hardly get you an upvote. Your comment needs to be relevant to the post and add a new perspective or an important information.

Additonally you can make Steem Power through upvoting a post.
As someone who has spent some time putting together a few posts that I was sure would trend and ended up going nowhere, I think your strategy is spot on.

Genuine enthusiasm in other people's material will end up with those people reciprocating. I've been on here a few months, and I've realized that my participation in other people's content has been relatively minimal compared to what it could/should be.

I'm making it a goal to curate and respond to posts more than creating original content, at least for a few weeks. And the main things is you were get followers too:))

You should make a post about your results after those 2 weeks of commenting @raghwendra.

What were your profits, follower gains and connections compared to 2 weeks of submitting own posts.

@ronni

for me commenting is where the community aspect of steemit really happens. This is how I've made friends and connections on this platform. But I do wish I could find the "comment" button on my keyboard like you did in your photo (:o)

Yes, agree! Good to have a comment button:)

This is very interesting for a new person! Thank you very much for your advice! :)

I try to tell people this all the time. Rules for being succesful on here are def no posting vote for vote, follow for follow crap & don't upvote your own comments. It's way better to share the wealth to everybody so the platform can grow. A lot of big authors on here with upvote the top few comments on their posts which is awesome. One of them being @jeffberwick if you take the time to read his post and write a thoughtful response he will reward with a dollar upvote or so. I personally love when my fishing blogs get comments about the actual fish because I can tell people are actually checking it out! Not trying to just get my attention with a lil' upvote.

Yes, of course the authors like a genuine comment. Everybody loves an audience! I love fishing, going to check out your blog:)

I do it for the fun of it. My configuration of text is horrible and I do not know how to upload pics or videos. Nor do I own any cryptocurrency.. So I don't start posts. Just enjoy and respond when I feel like it. It's very rewarding to me, I feel connected in a way. My faith in humanity has improved since I joined Steem-it. That is worth a lot. Thanks for taking the time to encourage.

Thank you, for being generous with your time and taking an interest. Gratitude and appreciation is all I can really give. Have a feeling that's okay with you. Beautiful day.

Went to the sight had easy downloadable instructions.. Thanks again. Time to practice!

You are totally right, @janusface. These days I seem to have stumbled into vaccine pushers and somebody else is on the trail of a pedophile ring here. I think I could write all the posts I wanted on those subjects and would get no reaction to them, but commenting on something you already SEE and oppose it strongly will get you Steem and the right followers and it might even help the children.

Yes, commenting is a great strategy if you can manage to consistently write genuine comments -- and I think most people can tell whether your comments are genuine or not. I've had mixed success with this because some authors simply receive too many comments on their posts and perhaps overlook mine. Some authors, no matter how many posts I comment on or to what extent, just never respond to me. That doesn't stop me from continuing to comment, though.

A lot of times, for me, it's better to respond and join in to a conversation already happening in the comments. At least there's a higher chance of engagement there. Engagement is my goal more so than receiving an upvote for my comments (although that's nice too!) ;)

Some of the very popular authors do not look that interested in their commenters imho. Their loss:)

I very much agree with you; they are simply writing so they can get bot upvotes. :)

great post , very helpful for newbies
how can write like this in my posts" In social psychology, reciprocity is a social rule that says people should repay, in kind, what another person has provided for them; that is, people give back (reciprocate) the kind of treatment they have received from another."

You mean like this:

In social psychology, reciprocity is a social rule that says people should repay, in kind, what another person has provided for them; that is, people give back (reciprocate) the kind of treatment they have received from another

You just add a >before your writing

before your writing

You are very right, sir. I am trying to do that since I arrived on Steemit and is a very good technique to get involved in the community.

I have been compelled for some strange reason to comment on your post.!!!!!! Thanks for sharing, great quote

Billion dollar post sir, i should say that our goal is not to be a successful commentator, but our goal is to be a valuable commentator.

Agreed:)

I agree that a good comment sometimes makes some money but i have been commenting for ages and never got a 85$ upvote :P would be fun tough, would double my wallet in a go.

But honestly i don't comment for the upvotes. I comment because i appreciate a post!

Yes, that is the correct approach. Some day, you will get $85 too:)

Lets hope 😇

to end it on a short now as the points you mention those were absolutely right and it also help you to make some good friend :) too

Wow. Highest I got was like 5-6 bucks and that is a lot already :D I started to work more on commenting and looking for people that match me instead of my own blog, and so far it is way more rewarding!

thanks bro..

@janusface - Sire, good post & I love your style Sire.

+W+ [UpVoted & ReSteemed]

@amigo #resteemia at your service

Useful information and guideline. nice work @janusface

ReSteemia
'UpVote ReSteem Comment'

@janusface got you a $1.73 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@janusface got you a $1.73 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

This post received a 4.4% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @janusface! For more information, click here!

Great topic @janusface
Thanks for sharing

Hey you, habla Español?

This post has received a Bellyrub and 8.40 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @janusface. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

This post has received a 9.50 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @janusface.