What I learned after 2 months on Steemit

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello Steemians !


Advice for new Steemit users


It’s been more or less two months that I am on Steemit and I wanted to share it with you. This post is quite special since it has nothing to do with all my other posts. It’s pretty much a summary of all that I learned from my two months on Steemit and I’ll explain it as pieces of advice. Some of them are really basic but I still think it’s important to talk about it and other are really specific to what I do on Steemit.


Use the appropriate tags


One of the first mistake I made was the misuse of the tags, I didn’t understand it quite well at the beginning. I mainly use for my beer posts tags like : life, story,... Because I saw those tags in the list and they were at the top of the payout.
However that’s a mistake, you should use the appropriate tags. To stay in the same example, I now use tags like beer, beeroftheday, food, … That kind of tags is way better and get you a better exposition on Steemit.

keywords-ebay-buying-software.jpg


Reply to the comment


It’s really an big point for me, I nearly always reply to the comments I get. It’s something great because you show that you care about your followers and it’s pleasant for them. Also it will encourage some other people to comment too and it’s a great motivation to have people behind you. They also can teach you stuff, for example, one of my followers advises me a beer, another explains to me that there is some stout (it’s a special kind of beer) with liquor adding, ...


Post regularly


It doesn’t matter if it’s daily, weekly, the most important thing is the regularity. I personally think that you should post at least 2 or 3 times a week to maintain your followers entertained. For my own blog, I post every day and I can advise you to do the same but you have to be well prepared. Indeed, if you’re working or if you’re a student like me it can be hard to find time to do that every day.


Make post beforehand


This is especially true if you don’t have a lot of time. Preparing two or three posts in a row is a great thing because if you post every day for example, you only work once in three days. By doing that, you’ll feel less pressure and you won’t need to think about Steemit every day, even if you’ll probably do it anyway.
It’s also a good thing if you’re about to go on vacation. When I was in London, I had prepared 4 posts beforehand in order to fully enjoy my trip.


Make good looking post


What I mean is even if Steemit isn't as complete as Word for example, you can still use it right and make an awesome looking post ! It is rude at first when you have to use it but the more you do, the better you'll become. I think I'm not really good for that but I try to improve myself, if you pay attention, you maybe have noticed that the links I give are now integrated into the text. This is all because of the Markdown Styling Guide


That's it ! I hope you liked this and see you tomorrow for more awesome posts !

Sort:  

great advise, and one thing I can add, when adding comments, you need to engage those who post, which is easy if you also add an open ended question, such as a why, what, who, etc. The more comments the better chance in making hot or trending list. Now following you my friend since we share a big interest in beer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah you're right, I'll try to do that more often :)

I will make sure to use this advice going forward.

Thank you!

your beer series is killing it... almost makes me want to start drinking again

Thank you ! It's very encouraging comments like that ! :D

Thanks for sharing such great article :)

Thank you for this post @jarendesta

It is a great help. I love reading about posts there people share about their experience on here. This morning I posted my thoughts about my two weeks on here.

If you wouldnt mind taking a look and giving me your thoughts...

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@taskmaster4450/my-two-weeks-anniversary-on-steemit-what-i-did-what-i-learn-and-lessons-given-to-me

Good advice for new Steemians like me. Thanks!

thanks a lot...It's really useful

great tips .......bravooooooooooooo.upvoted

Lots of very useful information, Thanks for sharing @jarendesta. What is your favourite beer?

Hey this was a great post! Thanks for sharing it! I will follow, upvote and resteem :)

Thanks...just started yesterday. It will help a lot.

Thanks @jarendesta this is really helpful for me as a newbie. I definitely can avoid some mistakes.

Wow i love the simplicity of the post,easy to read and comprehend....keep the steem hot and spiced.......many vote for you

Thank you for the advice.

thanks for the tips

Thanks for sharing your experience. I'm new in steemit and not that active but your post will help me to put some real effort towards earning some money. upvoted!!

Thank you and glad you liked it ! :D

Thank you for these tips @jarendesta. I've only been here for 2 weeks and blogging along so it is good to read this from someone who is ahead of me and not get discouraged. Followed.

Thanks and glad you liked it ! :D

Thanks for this awesome post.
Initially i also did not know how to use the tags,but i know do.
Since you have said replying back to comments,then i suppose i start that asap.
I will also have to program myself to establish my posting frequency.
Thanks for sharing the tips that have brought you success in your 2 months here.

You're welcome :)

I want to meet friends from different parts of the world and want to know their life style.. This type of article is very much fruitful for newbies like me also.. Expecting more beautiful advices to go forward in this journey.. Thanks again friend!

Hey @jarendesta

Thanks for sharing your tips on Steeming. I am trying to be active and post daily, it's a daunting task but it's essential to build a strong followership for you.

We have to be persistent in blogging to earn and learn more. It's always going to pay off.

Yeah that's right, posting every day maybe hard but it's definitively worth it ! :D

Yeah, It's definitely worth it specially when we earn from our blog posts 😉

Noteworthy Advice here -- I particularly HONED in on #Tags, or tagging correctly. Will have to pay attn to that.

Additionally, the point on #scheduling of the posts (and GROUPING them together - i.e, as in doing up 3 posts at 1 time )
Thanks. Have a fun Saturday ☻☻

Our worst comes out when we behave like bots or professionals.

Hello @janashby | Here's a sneak peek of #Tags posts

Top 3 Trending Posts


#1. Culture Vulture Challenge August Results | by @eroche
#2. Building up a following here on steemit. | by @alienbutt
#3. Culture Vulture Challenge - Post Promotion | by @eroche
I'm a bot, beep boop | Here's my Introduction | Inspired By Reddit SneakPeekBot | Recreated By @miserableoracle

Thank you, I was doing the same with tags, now I'll try as you said :)

This is adorable!

when i read your post, i feel that it's not hard to make a poste just be your self and speak what you think

Such progress in just two months!

Wow! Just WOW!!

You forget an important part, upvoted all comment received in your post, because people took time and a part of their life to see and comment your post, i think is great to give upvoted all comment received, it is my opinion, i preffer spend my voting power in comment.
Best regard.
@galberto

Actually, I almost always upvote my comment, I forgot to talk about that you're right :)

Excellent it is very important, happy sunday
Best regard.

Adding to the above, stay patient and don't dream to become rich over night! Contribute to the community with your creative work and money will definitely come after you.

I like this post... it was very good to read :) And I think this too you mast be very active to be here. And one more thing it's important that you be patient.

These tips are great and definitely help us a lot. You are an example to us

Thank you for this tips.

Yes I agree with you. Tagging should be more specific to get the right audience and to have better engagement rate. Great article!

Speaking as a new minnow, I appreciate this! :D

I'm already doing some of this, but I really REALLY have to learn the Marketing Style stuff, especially about how to consistently do bold/italics and centering.

Thank you for this info, though! Definitely.

~Thomas Duder, Author of the Things

Well-presented, easy to read, and good information - nice job! Following you :)

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment