A Steemit Question: Curation Rewards and Self/Paid votes??

in #steemit6 years ago

I think I'm ready to revisit what I know about Curation...
I like to think I know a lot about the inner workings of STEEM but I want some clarification on curation because either I'm a little mistaken or some others are mistaken.

PREVIOUS PERCEPTION on CURATION

I'd love to really perfect my understanding of the mechanics and math behind it. As a new steemit user months ago I had the perception that when you voted it was most profitable to do it BEFORE a big vote.

QUESTION 1

So let's tackle that question... Do you get a better curation if you vote before another BIG VOTE? If so what's the difference and if not then that kinda changes everything. haha

If it's important to put your vote in before big votes then why do so many do their large self votes or paid votes so quickly!!!??

I know there's something about 1-30 minutes and some sort of equation but let's be honest I think very few people even understand it... including me. And i'm pretty proud of my pretty good monthly CURATION reward I have.

HELPING OUT MY VOTERS?
I would usually wait close to 2 days before doing a paid or self vote thinking that I was really rewarding those who voted on my stuff.... because most votes from my followers are usually in the first day or two anyway. But if they get the same reward if they vote before or after those big votes then I guess I was just operating off a false premise.

BUT IF I WAS RIGHT??

Under my original perception I am constantly surprised at how many self vote with a super large vote 1 minute or even a few hours after a post... (I am on the side that I don't care if they self vote as long as there is still something like 7-9 of their votes being given out to others.) But in any case IF IF it is more valuable to vote before a big vote then why not reward their followers and voters by holding off that big self/paid vote for a little bit later??

GOLDEN OPPORTUNITIES?
Let's be honest when I see a new post by someone who i know usually has big vote totals I jump on that and when i see their big totals have already come in I'm less motivated. But perhaps like I've said I'm just operating on a false premise and i'm ok with letting that be known so I can be corrected. I think there are plenty of things we learned early on and didn't quite get a full understanding of.

Help me out:
@czechglobalhosts You do a vote almost immediately and you're hard-core into steemit... maybe you can shed some light on this... I assume you have thought about WHEN to do that vote, is there any reason for the really quick vote?

@juliank you vote each post do you have a strategy on when to do it?

@intrepidphotos I think you or @aweber may have been the first to try to teach me curation rewards, wanna teach me again? haha

@martinphoto @adonisabril do you have a strategy with your paid votes? Have you thought about this?

@dmytrokorol @asgarth you guys know some of the inner workings and I trust y'all.

REWARDING FOLLOWERS

I like to think I am working hard to find ways to reward my followers. I Even like knowing that if I do a paid vote it rewards them with a curation. But to be honest I'm not sure how much it rewards them.

.... So i'm ready to be taught ... again!

A PICTURE FROM YESTERDAY

Because every post needs a picture right?
9000_85J8039.jpg

Sort:  

First off. Sickly smooth photo!
Secondly, I used to think I also knew all about curation, and might have told you about it.. But now I am also unsure after hearing rumors of conflicting things (such as before or after big votes etc). So I am just as curious to know the actual rules, haha.

What rumors? I thought that the sooner vote - the better but because of inverted auction the most profitable is first vote on post after 30 minutes or more after post creation. Firts three minutes - all rewards from votes going to post author. That is the reason, why people self votes such early

I am sure from the point of view of the math behind steem, it is more profitable to buy upvote or self vote asap. In this case the curation rewards you will give are minimal. BUT here comes psychology and as you say motivation. IF your voters knew you will buy the big upvotes later then they upvote, they would probably upvote your post with bigger enthusiasm. Didn't test this theory though. I don't think it could work on my number of followers.

Yeah I would have thought this would be the case. We need to educate our friends and followers about beneficial practices

Woah. Looking forward to see what they all answer. I get so confused with this too.

I'm super confused by this too! Love the photograph, I think it was necessary!

I have to be honest...
I don't have clue about curation. Haha.
But I do know your photos are amazing :)

Well makes me feel good that I'm not the only one.

Beautiful photo! I have nothing else to contribute to the conversation... but I'm super curious about the answers to your questions. I'll be checking back. Or maybe do a followup post if you do get some solid answers? Cheers!

Yeah i'm looking forward to seeing if anyone replies or has a link to a good source of information. I'd actually love to watch a youtube video on the subject I feel like that would have some good info. But i'd have to trust the person really knew what they were talking about... there's a lot of misinformation because it can be hard to understand sometimes.

i also got lost in everything here even i was sure that i know some "rules" and "tricks".

love the amount of the tones of the colors here and awesome light and shadows creates these shapes

i did read something like that it is better to vote early, but i have no problem with voting late if i really like what i seen. my SP is like 0.03 so my curation rewards are approx 0.001/0.002 not really that important :)

Sky view was better but the Rock pic is nice to.
I also am lost when it come to trying to figure out how Steemit works. What I do know is that it Helps many people who have no income and gives us all something to do. Steemit helps hook the whole world together and gives us a look into each other's lives. I figure that in time I will understand more as to how it really works. Until then I am going to enjoy views.

I feel like I know a TON... but there are still stuff I need to learn better.

I know that what I know might not be correct when it comes to Steemit and how it functions. A day is a wasted day if we do not learn something new.

Just as I write this I went and checked #steemworld they even tell you the percentages for curation/author now.

That's super new maybe the developer @steemchiller has some insight.

BTW Steemworld is perhaps one of my favorite Steem Tools.
https://steemworld.org/