Why I am not looking forward to Fatherā€™s day

in #steemit ā€¢ 6 years ago (edited)

3AEEE031-51F7-443F-A8D1-CB7B7FC3AEE8.jpeg

The world is celebrating #FathersDay today. And I am celebrating it with everyone. Why not? Fathers are the main men in our lives!šŸ˜Š

But honestly, deep down my heart is breaking.

Again. For the nth time.

Why? Because I wish I still have a father.

We lost him in 2014. I remember I was still at work when I received a frantic phone call from my Mama. ā€œWala na Papa mo!ā€ (Your Papa is dead!)

I thought she was laughing and pulling a prank on me. I said ā€œHuh? Di pwede mangyari yun! Eh kasama lang natin siya kanina sa breakfast? Ang saya- saya pa nya!ā€
(Impossible! How could he be gone? We just had breakfast with him! He was having a great time!)

But she wasnā€™t kidding. It took a while for me to realize, she was crying hysterically. So I dropped everything, left the office and ran as fast as my legs would carry me. Called an ambulance. The paramedics quickly responded. They did the best they could.

But it was too late. He died inside in my house. Cardiac arrest.

Yes, people will say ā€œOh, donā€™t be too sad! You still have the father figures in your life! Your titos (uncles) are still here. He is in a better place now!ā€

I know, I know. But... sigh.

He is the ONLY father I have. No one can ever replace him.

So, to those who can hold your fathersā€” youā€™re damn lucky!! ā¤ļø Spoil them rotten, especially today!! Hug them, kiss them, tell them ā€œI love youā€ a million times, and give him that fine SUV or golf set heā€™s been wanting these past years! If you canā€™t, then promise him the moon and the stars, and commit the rest of your life fulfilling that promise.

Make him smile. Make him laugh.

He deserves it. No matter how imperfect he is.

But what about those who do not have fathers anymore?

Well, what else can we do but miss them, love them, honor their memory and throw them butterfly kisses in the air? Iā€™m sure theyā€™ll catch those and say ā€œthese are the cutest kisses in the world. šŸ¦‹ā€

So Papa, paano ba yan? Ganito nalang ba tayo?? Hahaha!
(What can we do? This is how itā€™s going to be?)

Sending you butterfly kisses...and hugs.

And as for my heart... it will always be broken whenever I think of you. But donā€™t you worry. I know how to live with it now. I am at peace. I am happy. Because one day I know, Iā€™ll see you.

Happy fatherā€™s day Papa! Love kita forever!
(I love you forever)

šŸŗšŸ»šŸ·šŸ¤ŖšŸ˜

Sort: Ā 

I miss my dad too. (sigh) Happy Father's Day to them in heaven!

Cheers to them! šŸ™šŸ»šŸ»

Congratulations @jasminromero! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you @steemitboard ā¤ļø

It wouldn't make me feel at all better if people told me that I had father figures in my life and that my dad was in a better place. I'm so sorry for your loss :(

True!

Thanks @malloryblythe :) yeah i know what you mean. I know they meant well but, it doesnt make it better, right?

Not only on father's day, everyday should be a family day.
Good post.

I'm sorry for your loss. I still have my father, but my mother passed in 2014. It was very sad for my family.
So I understand your loss. God bless you Jasmin. Bear Hugs!!

Bear hugging you back, @paradise-found! ā¤ļøā¤ļøā¤ļø

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 2 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!