You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @just2random is Leaving Steemit and This is a Real Problem

in #steemit6 years ago

Totally agree... I am a new user, I've only been on here for a couple of weeks and I found it incredibly difficult to navigate at first and I still don't know or fully understand what is in my wallet and what I should be doing with it. There really needs to be an easy to understand user guide breaking it all down. I have not bought... errrr, ummm... steem, SP... and I have not powered up or down as I know what know it if for, or how or when to do it. It is difficult to get your head around.

Slowly I am working my way around and doing the best I can with my very limited knowledge. It would help to have a friend who knows what they're doing for guidance! The only other problem I find is time... All that aside though... I'm loving it! Everyone seems really nice and supportive on here, it's a really great community. Maybe your friend just needs a break and they'll be back...

Sort:  

He is back!! He sneakily popped out a couple of posts over the weekend.

I think the point you raised is really relevant though and goes to heart of one of my problems with the site. The complete lack of user support is a massive barrier to entry to new users getting started. You really just have to figure it out for yourself. There is a tendency for those who have managed to thrive to take what I would call a purists attitude to this. "I figured it out, so you should too." I have even heard some people express sentiments like, "High barriers to entry mean that only the "right" type of people exist here." Its almost like an IQ test to get in the door. If you cant work it out, then don't come here.

I think there is merit to that point of view, but only to a certain extent. This isn't Facebook and shouldn't be expected to be like Facebook. Its also a platform that needs new users to thrive, so there needs to be a balance in there somewhere.

The issue you raise of time is also really relevant. To be truly successful here you have to commit an enormous amount of time. For a regular guy/gal working a full time job and raising a family, its hard to find that time. If we want people like that to be involved (and I think we do?) then we need to make sure its not too hard for them.

Oh that's great news!! : )
He obviously missed it and maybe he just needs to find a balance in his life to continue using it.

It's sad to hear that there a barrier forming on who is good enough to survive. I would have thought the more the merrier. The better the success of steemit, the better for everyone right. So far I have only come across really positive people with great, supportive attitudes. I certainly hope it stays that way as I find the vibe on here really good!