THE INTERVIEW: WITH @overkillcoin.💮🔥🔥

in #steemit • 6 years ago

Hello everyone, just as promised THE INTERVIEW series is getting fun and interesting as it goes by. Welcome ladies and gentlemen to another exiciting moment where you get to hear/know about another Steemian. The last episode I had the privilege of interacting with @azizbd and wow! It was great.

So today I've got someone who I met on twitter and well since then I could not get my eyes off his blog. A very talented "cyrpto artist" (don't ask me why I call him that).
Steemians, meet the first anonymous person on this series (you will not be seeing His photo)

@overkillcoin
IMG_20171106_081636.jpg

  • INTRODUCE YOURSELF

I'm overkillcoin. My primary Steemit role is posting fun drawings or animations, often with cryptocurrency themes. In my day job, I work to grow my graphics business. My dream is to work fewer hours and have a small farm. When or if I become a success, I'd also like to find new ways to help others. I do not want to become a success so I can drive the fastest car or live out my short days in luxury.
DQmUhFeocBPJaqQ4eUgocBDTkAYJxkPRHUVjJ4YArMR3dfE.png

  • HOW DID YOU GET TO KNOW ABOUT STEEMIT

It's crazy, really. Since late 2013, I subscribed to an altcoin newsletter that discussed new currencies. I actually learned about Steemit at a very early stage, but it seemed a little complicated and confusing at the time, so I just forgot about it. So, I didn't take action and join Steemit until a colleague, @steemitadventure reminded me about it. Honestly, it was like waking from a coma and having a whole new world around me.

  • TELL US ABOUT YOUR BLOG CONTENT

I don't write a whole lot. I usually create simple but attractive art. For some reason, my writing isn't an effective way to bring my ideas to Steemit. However, I've taken an old blog post and animated it, and it was very popular. I think animation holds my best chance at Steemit success.
DQmYpySsZ7WeQkPvp4mAVumQAvdPc1735gd5YtpVcQMh7d4.png

  • WHAT HAS YOUR EXPERIENCE HERE BEEN LIKE

It's funny, I don't seek out a lot of attention, but sometimes kindness and support simply overwhelm me on Steemit. Not mere comments, but genuine friendships forming that I wouldn't have expected to occur. It's been a challenge to develop new creative projects on a regular basis, but I believe it's helped me become more well-rounded.

I'm concerned about the spam on the platform. It's important that new visitors see that this is a community of intelligent and thoughtful creators, not spammers, who try to take shortcuts to success by being rude, insincere and lazy. I don't like to have to flag spammers, I certainly don't want to make problems intentionally, but there aren't many curators with a lot of SP and someone has to do something. Perhaps educating new users that spam is not welcome here could help.

  • WHAT WOULD YOU DO TO IMPROVE THE CURRENT STATE OF THIS PLATFORM IF YOU WERE THE CEO

Recently I read an article from a top social media influencer telling Steem users that if they want to be big on Steemit, then it's necessary to become big on the common social media giants first (Facebook/Youtube), then re-direct followers to Steemit. I think this has a lot of truth to it, but it's unfortunate.

I'm particularly concerned about video content creators who are just starting out - and prefer to start out on Steemit. I think the biggest obstacle to them is the short voting window for posts. Not only that, but content can be buried so quickly. I believe there's already a new notification app in place so users can be reminded that their favourite author has posted. This is a great tool to help worthy authors get noticed.

Simple video blogs might not take too much time to do, but animation or film-making can be a nightmare of effort. I have some ideas about "expanding" rewards for authors without tampering with the current system - perhaps an alternate site. I think there's a way to solve the problem of large scale projects that aren't worth making under the current set-up. I'd like to see Steemit compete with large scale video channels... television, Netflix... and more! It's good to have long-term and bold ambitions.
DQmZjj53AjMT1NnFRLfEtPYZaBfoswTwMsx31DQbgzpdVK2_1680x8400.jpg

  • HOW DO YOU SEE STEEMIT IN THE NEXT 3YEARS.
    I would guess Steem would be well over $25. In June of this year, it was (I believe) around $3, with a relatively small amount of users. Some Steemsters see Steem at $1,000 in five years. I hope they're right!

  • WHAT'S YOUR ADVICE TO STEEMIANS.

  1. Think about what you have to offer and add your own unique twist to your content (this is called a 'niche'). If you want to have an impact in a crowded topic, add something completely unexpected. For example, there's a famous cook on YouTube that creates entrees from actual movies. This attracts movie fans as well as those with an interest in culinary arts. Mix, combine and remix until you can be unique.

  2. Try to get extra mileage from your Steemit posts if possible... For example, I show my clients my illustrations or animations that I post on Steemit, so they can have a laugh or see my skills. A business writer could post to LinkedIn. And a fine artist could sell the art they create for Steemit, or get projects from the Steem economy.

  3. Don't burn yourself out. I've been taking a step back from Steemit and posting every other day, in order to focus on my business marketing and be more innovative. Think of Steemit as a marathon, not a sprint. Make sure the rest of your life is in balance before putting too much time into Steemit... and hopefully in time, you'll see a large reward.

  4. Truly take an interest in others and you'll build better connections.

"Think of steemit as a marathon not a sprint".... With this punch line, we've come to the end of another awesome edition . Once again A big thank you to all those who gave me the privilege of having this series with them. Wanna know who's next?? Stick around @jemimah. Thank you very much for your support.
TILL NEXT TIME
KEEP STEEMING
STAY BLESSED.

Sort:  

Nice interview. @overkillcoin has been one of my favourite steemians for a good while now. I don't know how he keeps coming up with cool new ideas for steem related artwork, but he does.

He's just awesome

@choogirl thanks so much :)

Love me sum @overkillcoin! :) :) :) Great interview!

<3

Great indeed!

Hi @jemimah, I am glad that you interviewed @overkillcoin, who I already follow but am a big fan of nonetheless. Hopefully this means that there will be more focus on his work. Looking forward to your next interview :)

 6 years ago (edited) 

Thank you. Next one will be awesome

@plushzilla thanks :)

Just keep on doing what you do, and we'll keep supporting ya! :D

Thanks @overkillcoin. I am now become a big fan of your because as he said u must be creative and must have a uniqueness. Which I see in your post . The interview of these great steemitian really help me and many other who work over here. I also understand what should we do really to be great . As he said a good content and your relation with other really matter . I will really gona focus on these point . My first I do appreciate you to provide us such great information with me . thanks again.

Thank you for reading also

Well sir I always read whole post

It's good to see your post there you share experiences of other steemer . Its gonna help alll who want to know how does it really works . Great concept and content.

Yeah sure. Thanks

Welcome sir

She has nice art work . Lovely to know about her passion and activities on steemit :)

Yeah definitely..his works speaks volume