YAY, I REACHED 100 FOLLOWERS ON STEEMIT!

in #steemit7 years ago

20170606_194644.jpg

I managed to finally reach 100 followers here on Steemit, and I am THRILLED! I've been posting content onto this platform for about 9 months, with a short hiatus around the new year. I worked (still do) pretty hard to create worthwhile content on topics that I have knowledge in (natural healing, plant medicine, foraging, gardening, very little on anarchy as better minds are tackling that), and so I thought that I would take a moment to share what I've learned up to now.

In for a penny, in for a pound. Quality content matters.

I've noticed that getting a big payout on a post is a little bit like winning at bingo, especially when you're new and don't have a big following yet. I've also noticed though, that content which does earn a decent payout is almost always of decent quality. If you're throwing together half-assed stuff, no real message or knowledge or news or what have you, it tends to get ignored. Posts on economy and cryptocurrency tend to pay out big and get a lot of attention, but these are just not my areas of expertise, so even realizing this, I focus on what I know. Because of what I felt to be a need for content that you can sink your teeth into, I started to spread around my original content between my website and Steemit so that both get attention from me, and hopefully build as time goes on.

You've got to get amongst it and ENGAGE!

I admit, growth has been really slow for me. I had an "if-you-write-it-they-will-come" approach. It hasn't quite worked, and I was beginning to feel like throwing in the towel. Then I had the great good luck to read a post from @shenanigator (great name by the way, original post here), and figured that I'd put some of the tips that he offered into action before giving up. One of them was to take a little time to "network!" Comment on posts that speak to you, and say more than just, "Hey, great post!" Be willing to engage and have a real exchange of thoughts. This can get people to want to learn more about you, check out your profile, and maybe give you a follow. Now, I know this can be hard for busy folks who need to work. I actually set time aside, and plan for at least 15 minutes to check out my Feed and my favorite categories, and just try to connect. And it worked! My following rate doubled (or more) in the last 4 days, finally pushing me over the 100 followers hump. In addition to that, I've honestly been having a richer experience here, way more satisfying than any other social platform that I've ever been on. It truly is more fun to get involved, and, though I see emotions run high at times (not always a bad thing), trolls are few and far between.

There's a ton more that I need to implement in my quest to create engaging content and have a rich, rewarding experience on Steemit, but these are the two focus points that seemed the most important for me to internalize as a Steemit newbie. With this mini-milestone, I'm feeling energized and looking forward to being a part of this awesome experiment!

Steemit rocks!!!!!


Sort:  

Nice post ! Welcome its a pleasure!

This post is QUALITY +++++ ! Keep posting quality content, your following will grow.

Congratulations on 100! Soon you will have 1000.☆☆☆☆☆😎

Great job @ jenncapestany! I hope to hit that milestone soon. Thanks for sharing your story and reminding us that when we serve people well, good things come our way. Key words - quality content and engage!

Thanks! You'll get there! And if sharing my experience helps anyone to reach this baby milestone sooner than I did, then all the better.

Yay!! Congratulations on such a drastic increase in your followers—espeically since you're doing it the authentic, non-spammy way. :) I really appreciated the time you took to comment on my post and I'm sure others have, too.

Thank you! I've really enjoyed the increased interaction. I didn't think that I would, but I had the fb horrors in my head. Steemit is a world away.

Uh-oh...Facebook horrors? What happened on Facebook?

(What comes to mind right now is commenting on a video and having everyone pounce on you for some little thing, so I'm sure it's something like that. 😬)

Nothing personal. I'm really good at not participating in silly fb conversations, but I've seen so many nightmarish interactions on social media like fb, YouTube or Reddit that it soured me on commenting on other platforms. I had to kind of get over that before I could risk commenting here on Steemit.

Ohhh, I gotcha. So true—"the internet" on other social media platforms is ruthless! Make one wrong move and you're toast.

I'm definitely more of a lurker everywhere else except Steemit. It's nice that this platform is much more mindful/accepting for the most part. When someone comes in being an asshole, the whole community rallies to squash that type of behavior.

That is me too. I lurk, and that's if I even look. I can't handle the negativity. It gets under my skin after a while and depresses me, so I usually just skip it!

Couldn't agree with you more! Can't stand the negativity, so I try to stay out of it or under the radar. :P

Congrats, heres to the next 100, just followed you to help you get closer. All the best

Thanks! Happy to follow back, and I see that you just reached a milestone of your own. Congratulations!

Thanks for that, yea I keep seeming to knock out a milestone a week lol...probably because I am running a few social media pages for the Steemit crowd but I would hope they also read my blogs lol...I put some heart into them now and then. Seems we are growing lately so it should get easier with time to hit those milestones. Need anything let me know, I resteem peoples posts on our pages to help and looks like people would love that photography your doing...yes I checked it out lol...about to upvote. Keep in touch, wishing you constant success with the community

Thank you, I will, and I really appreciate what you do to grow Steemit as a platform and a community!

I think this platform needs to be really marketed and used to help others so I make it a daily task to give back where I can. I rather earn my keep I guess you say lol. Its late here in Florida but first thing in the morning I will swing by and post a couple of your articles on my pages...share the links with you on the posts so you know where they are at. Figure do what I can to maybe get you closer to that next milestone, more we connect the better this works I feel. Great meeting you, don't be a stranger. Gonna get to sleep here though lol...put in a long day in with Steemit lol

Thanks! It's late here too. I'll do the same tomorrow!

Really good to meet you, have a great night and I promise first thing in the morning I will hook that up for ya. Night

Congratzzz
Keep it going girl!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

following ya ;)

Welcome to Steem @jenncapestany I have sent you a tip

101 ;)

Woohoo! Thanks, and happily followed back.

Congratulations on reaching this impressive following @jenncapestany :)
You're totally right on the money that quality is key and engagement is VERY important! You definitely earned my follow :)
I'm new to Steemit and I'd really appreciate it if you checked out my introduction post at https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@blaisep/hello-steemit-my-name-is-blaise
Maybe I can earn your follow too!

Thanks @blaisep! I'll go check out your profile & intro post right now.

Thats so great @jenncapestany !! I am still working my way up to 100. upvoted, resteem & followed you'll be at 1,000 followers in no time
cheers
@bitrocker2020

Thanks @bitrocker2020. We'll get there!

the follower will be double within a month
now in korea steemit also very popular

Yes, I've been reading about how popular Steemit is getting in Korea. Exciting stuff!

Thank you for sharing your experience! A lot of us joined in the last two days, we have a lot of catch up to do.

You're very welcome! Hopefully you'll catch up quicker than I did!

Hello @jenncapestany Congratulationsss!!!!
I have left you and up vote and follow keep up the good work

Thank you so much!

Great job on your first 100 follower! Keep it UP! :-)

Awesome! Congratulations!

Thanks! I was pretty excited.

Congratulations on your milestone!

You have the right attitude: post about what you know, create great content and engage

Hey, Great Post!

Just kidding. Important tips for new people like myself. I've heard it plenty of places, and it's good - because I'd much rather write quality content than spam things (other than some pictures when I'm on trips).

Followed for the "liberty loving".

I agree. The spammy posts don't seem to do anything but annoy people. Happy to follow back!

Appreciated! I'm sure we'll have some quality interactions.

112 now, that's awesome! I'm happy it's working for you. Resteemed.

It really is. And your advice was invaluable. Thanks again!

Welcome to SteemIt @jenncapestany and congrads! :)

Thank you, and happy to be here!

Congratulations @jenncapestany