Dont get why......

in #steemit7 years ago

Hello everyone, newbie here....it will be a week tomorrow that I joined, wow! I have noticed something interesting and wanted to get input.
Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 8.54.01 AM.png
(photo credit marsresident)

First let me say that I am (was?) a huge user of Facebook. I pretty much put my life on that thing, yes I might be one of those TMI people.

Anyway in Facebook you get lots of "likes" which I am interpreting to be upvotes here on steemit (this could be my first mistake), and and usually less comments. However, most everyone that comments has "liked" over on Facebook, but not everyone that "liked" will comment.
Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 8.54.34 AM.png

On steemit I have noticed that my post will get a fair amount of people commenting BUT no upvotes. It makes me wonder why? If the post spoke to you enough for you to comment on in, then why not also upvote? I read someplace that the upvotes do not come out of our own "bank" (again this could be wrong info), so why do you think there is a hesitation
to upvote along with commenting?

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 8.55.26 AM.png

I would love to hear what you all think of this, and please set me straight if I am missing part of the puzzle that is steemit.

my best to you all!!

Sort:  

The thing with upvotes is that there is also a Voting Power percentage. Every time you upvote something, that percentage gets a little smaller. The smaller your VP percentage is, the less your vote is worth.

Were I to upvote with full VP percentage, I'd give 0.02/0.03 reward. Do I upvote with 50%, I'd give 0.01/0.02 reward.

This percentage regenerates with time, but this is why we don't just upvote every single post out there.

I hope this explanation helps!

Thanks for this great explanation for something I didn't know existed. While my vote may not be worth a lot, I am upvoting for the valuable information.

Aww thank you! I'm glad I could help :-)

Thank yes a very detailed explanation. Additional question if you can answer? Is there an amount of time best to wait in between upvoted that you would suggest?

Hmm not really, Most people just upvote whenever, until their voting percentage gets too low, then they slow down for a while (or go to bed or work ;-) ). Most people try to stay above 70% I think...
You can check your percentage on https://steemstats.com

You just earned an upvote! Thanks for all the useful info and replies

Aww thank you :-)

Thanks. I was wondering the same. I've been on here less than a week.

Aah well in that case, welcome to Steemit! I'm glad I could help out a bit :-)

Are many of your posts really short? If so, that might be part of it.

Actually I think most run long. This might be the shortest after my into post.

Upvotes make people's voting percent go down, so many people only upvote content that they really like.

Ok thanks I think I get it.

Excellent post dear friend @ jocelin-falcon very interesting, thank you very much for sharing

Upvoted and followed, Jocelin

Upvoted =)

I don't know. I tend to upvote and comment very little. I think this my 8th post? I also notice that people don't vote on posts very much, including myself.

Good post, I was wondering the same.