Disowned Children in South-East Asia

in #steemit6 years ago

As you may recognize from my first post... The issues surrounding child protection resonate hard with me.

I've lived in Asia for several years. My partner is Cambodian and I am now in Thailand; the issues seem to be very similar in regard to mothers leaving their Children in their provinces, while some work hard to provide; others simply have a good time at the expense of foreigners.

As I felt abandoned and let down by my own Mother as a child; I find the extent to which eastern children are simply left with family members or friends throughout their childhood highly disturbing.

I'm currently sat outside a restaurant catching up with a good friend and have just witnessed (what I presume was her grandmother) arrive in a taxi and attempt to give the child to the Mother. The child screamed and cried relentlessly and launched herself back to the Grandmother.

This sight hurt me, apparently more-so than it did the Mother who simply walked back into the restaurant smiling.

Children need their Mothers!

Lifelong damaging effects are definitely a result of this form of abandonment and neglect.

Who agrees ?


Image source: 1