How Cheap is A Person's Life Here ?! $$$

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I have been involved in many hostile situations in several countries around the world but nothing has shocked me more so than the normality of death in the current country I reside in.

I have fallen in love with Cambodia; the land, the people, the way of life. The Khmer heritage, culture and pride are so rich and refreshing from the western way of life which I am accustomed to.

It is "rough around the edges here", but we all adapt to appreciate, respect and admire the way of life.

Nevertheless, there is a darker side to Cambodia, which is hard to accept. The country suffers from many similar issues as other LDC's.

Untitled.png

I would like to share some of my experiences ...

During my first month I witnessed a road accident, but what horrified me more was the group of men I thought were helping him were actually checking his pockets and taking his jewelry. A month later, I witnessed a women get knocked of her bike. Surprisingly, when I attempted to help her a group of people held me back and explained I would be held accountable not only financially but also potentially for her death. I still feel guilt that I stood powerless and watched others just stand around and video-record her. Thankfully she was OK and recovered with minor injuries.

I knew somebody who tragically died earlier this year in a road accident. Whats more devastating was that his family didn't have enough money to fly his body back home. As a result he was cremated here in an unpleasant field, with a small group of strangers.

There are many young females who have no other choice than to sell themselves, and horrifically sometimes even their children for a small amount of money.

It appears that anyone with a small amount of cash can be exempt from punishment and accountability (via the law but not the people). This is particularly true for road traffic accidents and murders. For instance, numerous people are found dead with their hands and feet tightly bound but police rule out murder. Check out this case from December 2016, in which police ruled as suicide! : http://www.phnompenhpost.com/national/unusual-drowning-ruled-suicide

I understand the history of the country and the impact the Khmer Rouge had, which still directly affects the Khmer people. This being said, its so sad that even after the mass genocide; life of their own people is still so cheap. I mean, 5 years ago you was able to buy live grenades from markets for as little as $5. I have been told by a police general (despite his laughing; i'm unsure how much of a joke it really was): "A professional hit costs $1600, an unprofessional hit $500".

Safety and Security must be addressed.

Please see some more related articles in:
http://www.phnompenhpost.com/
http://www.khmer440.com/chat_forum/viewtopic.php?t=53027
https://cambodiaexpatsonline.com/


image sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8

Sort:  

Excellent post. Keep it up and thanks.