Upvotes don't Necessarily Equal Quality Content!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

imageAre you getting frustrated that the posts that you put the most thought into are receiving less upvotes than other posts with little or no content? If so, you need to come to terms that upvotes don't necessarily equate to quality.

The upvote is more of an emotional decision. Sure quality at times comes into play, but sparking that emotion is really what counts.

I believe that I am a normal upvoter. So here is what I find myself reading and upvoting the most.

1. The description/title has to peak my interest.

Don't undersell the title.

2. Posts Should be Easy to Read!

I also look for posts that appear to be very easy to read. I normally use eSteem to browse. So the more "eSteem friendly" you can make your post, the more likely I am to read it in entirety and eventually comment and upvote.

3. Keep it simple!

You need to know your audience. If you create your post for the common person, more people will be likely to read it. The more people that view will increase upvote potential.

4. Have an Opinion!

Don't just restate information. Form an opinion and share it. Give your viewers an opportunity to agree or disagree with you. Sharing your opinion should increase the chances of viewer replies.

5. Stay at it!

It takes time and patience to acquire a following. Be consistent with your approach and upvotes should come.

I would like to hear advice from other Steemians regarding what works for you- please share!

Sort:  

6: When you do get viewer replies, have the grace to respond, upvote or both. I know this is not realistic if you get 100 comments, but make an effort.

totally agree! Show gratitude when someone takes the time to read and reply to your post(s).

👍👍👍👍

Commenting on other people's post has increased my following and it has improved my upvotes somehow.

Steemit is less Facebook like and more like Twitter.
It is all about building big group of follower or being already famous person...

Yah very true. I noticed dat too.

I agree. Emotion emotion emotion. Published a post a few days ago "The 10 commandments 4 responsible upvoting" and we seem to hint on the same aspects. Have a good one!

Hey that was really helpful!!
I was really wondering why my posts are getting less viewed and upvoted even if the quality of content is good but you helped me get my answers :)
Thanks alot!!
And hey i would really appreciate if you would check out my articles and give your views on it.
It would really help me grow :)
Thanks again and i already upvoted you and followed you!!
Hope to get followed back!!
Keep posting :)
Cheers!!