You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How many spam accounts does it take to screw up a network?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

What does all of this mean? I am guessing it means spammers are manipulating less than 5% of the pool right or a small percentage right? But I am hoping spam doesn't dominate the market of Steem. But I really do believe in capitalism, that better posts, comments, rise, profit, excel, spread, eventually, while spam does the opposite, generally, statistically, in the long-run, but that may take many years to happen or to continue. I try to promote good content on Steemit. I try to upvote what I like. I try not to flag or go after spam, bad stuff, things I do not like, etc. But I believe in freewill and in like a free market, it is better if each person is given that choice to upvote, to downvote, to do this, or to do that.

Spam is like dirt. Spam is like cancer. Spam is like rain. Spam is like dust. Spam is like a conflict. Spam is like a dirty room. Spam is kind of like evil. And what is spam for me may not be spam for you. So, it can be debated on what is spam and what is not spam. Spam, like a dirty room, is something that has to be cleaned up maybe again and again.

And spam, like beauty, is in the eye of the beholder, of the Oatmeal People haha. It depends on whether or not we define spam through objectivity or subjectivity.

Sort:  
  • People's awareness of rewarding valuable content
  • hindering spammers - through increased difficulties (better business is creating value)
  • hindering the establishment of multi-accounts for "farmers" - through increased difficulties (increase in time costs = unprofitable)
  • catching plagiarism

I also think that the market - it can handle itself ... However - Steemit - it can somehow change the registration process - which will make it difficult to set up accounts - using machine. [longer time costs - lower profitability]

Making registration requirements tougher may make it more difficult for some people to join, to register, but you may be right that it is still better in the long-run and maybe we can help some of the real people who might be struggling to register assuming they are not lying and are not coming to do bad stuff maybe or assuming they are not going back in line to get more puppet accounts or whatever. We want to make registering easy enough but not too easy and not too hard maybe either. I think I do agree with what you are saying.