A Desire To Make The World A Better Place

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Reflecting on life - How will your future self see you now

image


When first starting out on Steemit I was drawn to the idea of a decentralized social media site, the opportunity to "sharpen my pencil" so to speak by creating content and there was also the monetary motive. These inspirations since morphed into a desire to find a way to make the world a better place - even if it is just a small little ripple in a small little corner. I feel that the sharing of insight, knowledge, ideas, information etc is paramount in our ability to foster an evolution of enlightenment of the human species.

In addition and from a more objective perspective we have the ability here to financially help impoverished individuals, communities and or support a cause. This is something I have been kicking around and would love some help with. What can I/we do? Sponsor a Steemian? Set up a Steemit fundraiser for a cause?

I am looking for suggestions, ideas and assistance. I am not asking anyone else to do it for me. I want to do the groundwork to create something that will help, but assistance will be needed.


Learn more about me by reading my Introduction Post

Sharing is Caring.png

Sort:  

hey jon, she posts a lot of helpful initiatives. just looked through her feed and thought of your query... may be a start or at least inspiration?

https://steemit.com/@phoenixwren

Much appreciated @mountainjewel ! I will go check her out :) Have a wonderful day!

There used to be an @steemfund initiative that pooled rewards to gift to needy individuals that applied, but I am not sure if they are still active. It was a really good idea and had a lot of potential. I like the idea of "Steemit fundraisers" - something like writing a fundraiser article and seeing how much we can raise through rewards!

I will check them out. Thank you! And yes, some form of a fundraisers seems like a good way to go. Through payouts and donations the money could go to a cause with a receipt posted in a follow up article to show that the funds went where they were suppose to go.

This is the exact community you were looking for! There are several like-minded people who are doing a lot of work to find legit and deserving causes to improve the world (or someone's world) I would suggest you do a search and evaluate the plans and research they've done. Some of them are good!

I most certainly will! Thanks!