Next Steps: Software to Allow Stores to Accept Steem

in #steemit7 years ago

Yesterday I talked about an idea to get Shopify stores to accept steem currency. 

The basic concept is that if we could get stores to accept the steem currency as a payment method it would have a huge impact on the currency valuation.  

And it would add a lot of value for the users.  People could use it to buy stuff! 

@jerrybanfield suggested that I look at Changelly.com as a solution to change the steem dollars into bitcoin.  Then change the bitcoin instantly into USD.  And it is this USD that is deposited into the Shopify store's account. 

Today I sent off an email to Changelly.com asking a few questions about their API. 

The main concern right now that I have is how to minimize the transaction fees.  Because there are multiple steps to go through and different sites are taking a cut.  

What do you think is a reasonable percentage that people would be willing to pay to be able to purchase something with steemit on a Shopify site?  (including all costs)



Sort:  

Hi @jordanarsenault I am a friend of @jerrybanfield and a fellow Udemy creator! I hope to see more posts from you and feel free to follow me at anytime!

@jordanarsenault, sorry man but I don't have an answer to this dilemma, but I appreciated you bringing these types of issues to the front lines.

Looking forward to more great content - following!

Change fees for me are normally 1% at a minimum to go to USD from Steem to as much as 3% to 5% depending on which exchange I use to buy and sell. Steem through changelly to Coinbase USD is often 1.5% fee minimum which is lower than a credit card!

Congratulations @jordanarsenault! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!