Is Curation Reward Broken? Maybe You're Not Getting Paid.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


Steemit is a place where everybody helps everybody, and you automatically get a return for the upvotes you make, its called “curation reward”, a system that gives you steem power for upvoting.
Some advanced steemit users will know better about how it Works, and know that is not going everywhere and upvoting everything you see, since your vote power will get down, but heres my story.
I started to learn how to steemit, learned about the curation system and asked myself “Why not try this out in a smart way?”, and yes, i knew its not by upvoting a post with 20.000 Steem dollars already made, so i started to pick good posts that i knew it could start trending to upvote and give my support, but then, i noticed something was wrong, from 2 days, i had not even got 1 curation reward, and heres some examples.


This is Alla’s post, i found her by using the website, i upvoted her when she had only about 10-15 upvotes, with not even 10 dollars yet, some time after, noticed that she got to trending, with a 20.000.

She got paid just about some hours ago, and the curation rewards were distributed. So i tought “There must be something really wrong here”.


This is also another post that i supported just in its beginning. I upvoted Stephi just about 5 minutes before it starts growing up, and then, its time to Stephi get paid.

As you can see, her post was made 2 days ago, so it already got paid, the curation rewards got distributed again, and wait, i didnt get it again.


This is Layla, i saw her post also on the beginning, supported her just when i found it, she didnt have much yet, but then, she started growing.

And WOW, ok, this is my first curation reward, i know its not much, but its still something, i did know if i get some curation rewards, i wouldnt get too much, but thats already a thing. Sure?


Theres a screenshot of my steemit status. ( You can check them here https://steemd.com/@josepho) and you notice that from a LOT of posts that i upvoted, i only got a curation reward once.

COMPARITION WITH A WHALE.


This a small piece of @dan stats on steemit. (You can also check at https://steemd.com/@dan ) And just by taking a small look, you can see that a whale get a lot of curation rewards, and since his voting power is right now at 100% (You can also check on steemd) it clears me that he upvotes just the way i upvote since i have 93%+.
Right now it looks really weird to me, since theres no such a clear up post, but i found this kind of “error” with curation rewards in a lot of profiles that i prefer to not mention. I dont know if i dont know steemit as well as i thought i did, but right now it seems weird to me. Can someone clear it up?

Sort:  

If you delegate steem power, I think you loose your curation rewards for your future upvotings until you stop delegating. Then you will be able to curate again. Hope I could help if this is your case and if I'm correct.

never mind this please

I'm always upvoting great content, but i'm just not receiving curation rewards :(





yes, I vote good content, and vote at the right time but there is no curation reward...... what happen.... I have bought SP but no changing about curation reward

Nice ツ, I never get curation rewards.

Yeah your account is like mine, just blogging rewards and no curation rewards...

I just got one in 6 days with 140,000 steempower lol

Something is really messed up here.

I think it's a rich get richer problem. If your SP is too low most of your curation rewards round down to zero (I think) and if your SPs are in the millions, your own weight is enough to make it reward worthy.

It's most likely because your steam power is too low. In my opinion they should add a few decimals, to encourage people who aren't wales to curate.

I have 140,000 steempower and i just received 1 curation reward in 6 days... So probably it isn't that.

Ok that's messed up.

Ive been studying it. I saw a user with less power than me, he is just new to steem and have 3 steem power. Even with this low power he got some steem power with curation reward, so, this gives me a big question to solve about this reward.

it has to do with the voting time. if you vote within the first 20minutes, its not good. as thats the bots voting time. if others come in and vote at a better timing, they will take it all

but i found out about how to muliply your voting power and get the highest curation rewards.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@knozaki2015/my-upvote-was-worth-5-06-usd-25300-or-how-to-earn-the-maximum-curation-reward

Even if we upvoted before 20 minutes, which we don't, we still should be able to get a little curation reward just like the guy in the post you linked.

Yeah, i know that, i got this information too, and i vote at the right time.

I never get curation rewards too or my SP is too low?

Yes this is definitely a problem when whales get richer, they earn too much (they also give too much if you ask me, 1 whale vote equals 1000 jellyfishes like me). Anyway, I do understand that this is another way to get you to buy more Steem and power up, your rewards for curation will instantly increase.

I don't have much SP and voted very early in Alla post too and got just 0.001 SP...so it's working but it's really unfair.

Has any of this changed for you? I don't get any curation rewards either, I don't vote as early as you though.