Sort:  

Do you agree with voting bots? I used them for a short period and the allure is real, but it ISN'T the right way to create a successful Steemit space. I made my mistake.

I'm happy creating posts that attract a few dollars rather than paying bots..that, in the end, may end up costing me more than what I get back. that's the irony.

Take care,
Nick

Good Question

I use to use queue list bots and vote selling a lot, but after you start consistently earning a certain amount you should feel obligated to stick to organic alone for minnow support. Again, should because you have whales pushing past $100 per post with Bid Bots which is why cough cough bid bots are frowned upon by many communities. Not to mention bid bots are horribly inflating delegation markets while giving more than 200% ROI less than sellers and queues.

I primarily use sellers for minnows to gain visibility. That is the main usage. That being said,

  1. I never use bid bots because they are a rip off, enable cough cough inflated post values .
  2. Falsely claims to help minnows when it obviously doesn't
  3. Is destroying the delegation market for normal users.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.32$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

I think this is a vexed and complex question. I use them as I indicated in the original post, so can’t say I disagree with their use. Philosophically I agree with the comment below, that once you reach a certain point you should avoid using them. At the same time, steemit is not a level playing field. The system is so heavily stacked against newer and/or smaller accounts that I think that practicality trumps philosophy to a very large extent. The actual profit earned by using most vote bots is so small that you are often not really making much profit from them anyway. In effect you are paying for exposure and not much more. Using a service like @buildawhale you can often lose money instead of making it.

To be more specific in my answer though I would say that I support people creating quality content using bots to gain exposure, I don’t support people using bots purely to make money. There’s a lot of grey area in that answer, but that’s pretty much where I sit.