I like Steemit. The Big "But"

in #steemit6 years ago

I like Steemit. But I am not blind to it´s flaws.

I am a new user. No one who reads this will recognize my name from some previous post. Therefore hardly anyone will read this post. It will not reach trending and be only visible in new for a few minutes and in its main category for half an hour or so. But there is only a handful of tags/category that get visited.

Most users of Steemit are on this platform, because they are interested on crypto. And Steemit´s userbase is very homogen. Most users read posts about crypto, art, traveling or Steemit itself (like this post)

If you are not interested one of these topics, than you have no reason to be here. Also right on the homepage these tags are presented, amplifying the time spent with these topics.

I like crypto. But does my dad? Does my friends? No. And if the are interested in one of the other topics, then there are better sources of entertainment.

So at some point there must be a way to make Steemit´s userbase more inhomogen or the platform will be only a little more than an average forum about crypto with a slightly bigger off-topic corner.


If you enjoyed this story please consider voting or following, I will post some more articles on this topic in the upcoming year and every vote or follow encourages to write more.

Merry Christmas and a great new year

Sort:  

You just spoke my mind.

Hmmm. I think it's a bit early to be making those sort of judgements. I've only been here a week and am not here for the crypto stuff. I don't understand it. Yet I have had some great conversations with people and read and commented on loads of posts that I'm genuinely interested in. Most users may read the stuff you mention but there's more than enough other topics to keep me interested. In fact, one of the biggest challenges I have faced is spending too much time here. Maybe spend a bit more time trying to find the stuff you are interested in. 😊

Of course this piece was exaggerated and there are many cool corners, but from my point of view these are not enough promoted. I am here for 3 weeks and in trending and hot I only have seen posts of named categories. But I am interested in these topics, so no problems for me either

I don't look in trending or hot but then it's only my first week so maybe that comes later. 😊

Congratulations @juliux! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!