Help: How is Reputation Calculated/Gained

in #steemit7 years ago

Hey everyone, I'm brand new to Steemit and have been trying to dig in as much as possible. I have read the entire whitepaper and tons of informational posts from other Steemians, but here's the topic I haven't found the answer to.

media-crime-criminal-most_wanted-lists-reputations-njun1525_low.jpg
credit: Norm Juno

The distribution curve for reputation seems to be bell shaped with the median being somewhere between 60 and 65 (this is taken from my observation of new posts, so reality might be skewed lower). As I started posting, commenting, and interacting with community members, I noticed that my reputation was skyrocketing. Within a day, I was at 46. The next day I reached 50. The last couple of days it hasn't budged from 50.

It seems to me that reputation gains needed for an additional level are exponentially greater each level, but is that math available somewhere? What variables are most important? Is it more about waiting for a whale to vote on your posts than to interact with normal Steemians in discussions?

I appreciate any help you can throw my way, and I'm sure other Newbies will benefit from this info as well.

Thanks!

Jumpy

Sort:  

https://steemit.com/steemit/@dantheman/brief-update-on-reputation-score

This explains it pretty well. The only that that has changed since is rep is more granular and it starts at 25 rather than 0. The highest reps are around 74 I think with poor @wang at -16.

Thanks. This is exactly what I needed. I wish that these resources were easier to find for us newbies.

i am kind of new too (11 days ago), a thing i believe that gets you more reputation is the amount of people with a highest reputation than you, that upvotes you ( i dont know if thats entirely true but its what i think is happening)