You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit is all about the Money!

in #steemit6 years ago

I have some thoughts that I formed overnight, and I can connect some of those thoughts to this response. Thank you @intrepidphotos!

I have never really blogged consistently before, and have primarily used Instagram which encourages only short form comment, and very basic conversation. I believe I am learning how to transition from short form content to long form content. I have had the thought that this platform in comparison to Instagram may be the perfect place to post experimental work, learning processes, and requests for feedback. For several years I have largely viewed my Instagram as a fluid and current portfolio of my best work. My initial thought was to transition that mentality to Steemit. I am seeing however that this platform may be better utilized to serve a different purpose. I'm not sure what all that entails, but I am excited about the potential.

I wrote the blog post above with a heavy dose of sarcasm and cynicism, which comes naturally to me in my personality, and as a result I believe the post came across as more negative than I really feel. I really do appreciate the conversation that occurs on here, and I believe I'm learning how to adapt to this sort of platform. It's new to me, and I'm finding my sea legs.

Thanks for your thoughtful response.

Sort:  

I think your on the money there. Steemit is a great place to experiment a bit more outside ones comfort zone to get real feedback. On Instagram if I post something outside of my normal theme the first few people like it a little less as it's not what they expect and then it gets crimped by the algorithm so that no one ends up seeing it. I range from from a reach of 25,000k people down to 6,000 people depending on the shot. So people feeds become narrower, and they end up being shown almost the same thing over and over again as the likes are self reinforcing. This is the main problem with algorithm based social media as it is self reinforcing of a given style or ideology. Chronological media on the other hand shows you everything in your feed; so the apparent quality might be slightly down, but you see things that would otherwise be screened out, and occasionally you see things that come from a different perspective that broaden your mindset and might just change your world view slightly. I think appics will be more of a direct IG copy when it comes out and complement steemit