You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To be a happier Steemian, stop focusing on "earnings"

in #steemit7 years ago

I like this post. I'm not here for the "money". It may be a bonus for doing this, but since I don't have the money to 'invest' then it's no big deal for me.
I've never been involved in an 'online community' before. I am a face-face man in real life. My job, building manager, has me dealing with people all the time and I have my friends and gaming groups that I hang out with all the time.
Most of my communications are face-face. I use Facebook and email merely to gather attendance information for game days.

I hope many people see this post, it is some good words.

Sort:  

Thanks! I' mean not a big Facebook or email user, either. I like steemit because there's a lot of unique, specialized content that you don't find on mainstream social media. I think a lot of people want this to be "Facebook that pays", but it's designed to be something different. And until the"Facebook that pays" crowd invests in lots of SP, it will continue to be curated the way the whales want it to be. That's just how it works.

Nice to meet you, and followed.

I keep hearing this term "whale". Other than an ocean animal, I have no idea what people are referring to, nor have I had the inclination to find out, lol.

They're the people with the most steem power. Their upvotes can be worth many dollars, so people can be a bit passionate in their opinions of them.

Wouldn't you "want" their upvotes then? Or do they stick to themselves?
I mean, wouldn't they be helpful to have as a follower?

It's like anything...some of them are heavily involved, other are taking a hiatus and have delegated their voting power to other users, and some are basically ghosts. Their downvotes are perhaps more influential than their upvotes, so they can be really useful in keeping the platform free of spam and plagiarism. I'm sure that plenty of people have invested in steem power for that reason alone. It's kind of nice having a social media platform where people care that much about maintaining some modicum of quality in the feed.