Some splendid advice on commenting!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Welcome!

You have reached the Commentphant's page with splendid advice on commenting.

Here they are:

  1. Read the post before commenting.
  2. Write a comment that addresses the things written in the post.
  3. Write a comment that will be interesting to write a reply to.

streg.png

  • You asks: Why should I do that?

  • The Commentphant answers:
    -- To make Hive a place where content, both comments and posts, is high quality.
    -- To show some respect for the poster.
    -- To make the poster notice you so he or she goes to your blog to see if it is worth giving an upvote.

streg.png

How to use the Commentphant

If you are suffering from bad, boring or bot-comments, but your voting power is low or your flag-finger is tired - post a reply with the following lines:

[![The_commentphant.jpg](https://files.peakd.com/file/peakd-hive/katharsisdrill/6UuByKXI-commentfant_400.jpg)](https://hive.blog/steemit/@katharsisdrill/some-splendid-advice-on-commenting)

It will look like this:

and links to this page.

streg.png

Creative Commons License

All things on this page is made by Katharsisdrill and licensed under a

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

streg.png

Sort:  

Ooh, I'm going to use that :)

That is what the Commentphant was invented for! Hope it will spread a little beyond my own use. I just needed a more polite and precise post to link to. With a silly avatar...

ok bro now i am trying to use high quality comments For High Quality Content...

Thing is, it will benefit you. You will earn more from one good comment than 100 superficial ones.

Can I write a blog sponsoning this, I plan on using some iteration to link back to this original thread probably wont be for a while. I plan or writing up an enourmous post on how steemit works from my understanding and honestly I love this, this is what I try to tell people and I believe steemit is a social media platform built for real conversations and learning!

Please do! Write me here or some other place when you finish the Odyssey through Steemit, so I can vote for you.

Great will do, as it sits would you mind looking at my blog, i have an unpaid blog in regards to some seriously siilly scammers that tried me and I was hoping you could take a look and see what kind of devastation they could cause. Currently its the third post in my feed. Night!

Nice postering! Your post makes my heart stop and rainbows appear all over town, giving new hope where there was none

Lol, just earlier today I was searching for an older post of yours, the one you used to link on spam comments. I intended to start linking to it myself, but now you provide something even better: A DOODLE! Thanks!

BTW, please explain to some people that this is not an elephant, but an early form of our lord and master, the Great Cthulhu, thank you very much.

I AM SO GLAD THAT YOU WILL USE THE COMMENTÅPHANT.
.
.
.
.
.
(I will keep the true nature of the creature hidden until the time our coven is ready for the ritual)

Its all too hard.

  1. First I would have to read all those... WORDS and then
  2. I would have to think of something witty, and then
  3. I would need to write this comment in a form that invites further discussion. As in, leaving the end as a question, instead of a closed form.

Everything that is not about elephants, is irrelaphant!

I have a solution to all things!

I love these "creatures " of yours !! :-)

by the way..
follower.jpg

I'm going to use the commentphant from now on. Hahaha! Thank you for this, @katharsisdrill!!!

We need to get the Commentphant out there working for a better future!

We definitely need that super-hero elephant to combat the boring/irrelevant/spamming comments which plague our threads! :) PS: add him some tusks maybe, no? :)

He started out both tusk and ear less... not sure about the symbolism but it is definitely there.

Well, since elephants are supposed to have a good memory, the symbol could be: "I know you now, you and your shitty comments: I won't forget, don't come back or else..." :)

And still it is smiling!

Not an elephant. It's an adolescent Cthulhu.

Thanks for sharing it :) it will be useful, especially for us, who are newer members of the steem :) and I like that name, Commentphant, great one :D resteemed

The advices are actually quite sound. I think making good comments and quality posts are equally important.

I agree, both of them are very important. We all should try our best, but not everybody wants to put some efforts in that. I am learning how to use steem properly since the day I created my account (it was about a week ago). So i am still in a process of developing.

You'll get the hang of it. Good luck.

It's rare to get a good comment...
It's rare to get a comment.

What I really hate are the copy pasted comments and the zero-iq comment bots. I used to punish them with dislikes.

Yes, I have flagged too, but this is a solution I will try out instead. I have invented it mainly for my own use, but it is of course for everybody - it gets so depressing flagging through 5-7 SPAM comment per post.

Ha ha. Comments made me laugh! How ridiculous these bots once they leave their "nice post" even there, which discusses the measure of their punishment. Why do they do it? Are these people so stupid that they don't understand such actions is the collapse of their success on the platform. Is it greed, the desire for easy money, just turns off their brain? When all will understand that to be successful here you need first to work on yourself and carry your contribution, your individual view of the world.

Amen! Maybe it can be a fun way to spread a little quality conscience.

Thank you for this amazing tool :'D

You are more than welcome. It s there to be used!

so people sometimes ask: How long did it take you to draw this - my answer:
Charlie Brown Good Art.JPG
▲ click to Zoom

Haha, yes! that sums up peoples idea of what art really is.

i want to try, does this work

No, you need to have an image-link within a link. Like this:

[![](here goes the image url)](here goes the link)

Don't use it to promote your own posts, though. Write something about the post you are commenting on, and there is a much higher chance people will check your blog.

well, thanks for sharing

I wonder what that looks like...

The_commentphant.jpg

Does this only work on steemit? Anywhere else?
Yours.org? Nope. Weku.io? Nope.? Minds.com? Nope. Matter.cash? Yes.

It does take a place that can use markdown :)

YES - I took the code into my arsenal!

Ha ha ha!! This is a good way to teach a lesson to spammers. Sure I will this from today.

Very good content friend...

Great, thank you so very, very much, friend! Now I get to try the Commentphant only one minute after posting!

The_commentphant.jpg

steemit has changed my life

You just joined Steemit, so you have an excuse. Your comment was both comically and unintentionally illustrative of exactly what one should not do on Steemit.

It is a natural to want to be successful on Steemit, but this platform is unlike other social media platforms.

If you read the above post carefully you will learn some useful information that will help you. Writing five original comments per day that are thoughtful and insightful will bring you more rewards than fifty trite comments.

I visited your blog with the intention of upvoting your first post, but I discovered you simply posted a beautiful stock photo without crediting the source. This is what we call a no-no. You should delete this post while you still can, and take some time to do a proper introductory post.

Don't give up, but do read some tips for beginners, or watch some video tutorials.

Most of all, good luck

Yes? I'm sorry to hear that! Hope you will be your old self soon again!

And thanks for helping me demonstrating the Commentphant!

The_commentphant.jpg

just lol!
(I know I am inviting the commentophant myself, but I had to express my amusement at this comment, without any further content, sorry!)

Yes, I am a smart-arse :)

That's pretty cool to know thanks for the tips by the way, have a nice..

Really?

The_commentphant.jpg


lmfao :D
Only a single word with the right graphics in the right situation is worth gold.

Thx for the "code snippet" - I think I will be able to use it more often. :)

Okay sir i will be trying to use high quality comments For High Quality Content...pray for me

Thanks for sharing! A link to your post was included in the Steem.center wiki article about Comment. Thanks and good luck again!