You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stop Making Steemit All About the Money, It Won't Work - And Other Ranting About What Sucks About Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

lol! HF19 stands for "hard fork 19" which is basically Steemit geek lingo for "significant change in the way the website is run" which is done through witnesses voting and some developers making the changes happen. They do them periodically.. I'm not sure which one we are on? But 19 was the one where they shifted voting power a little bit so that minnows had a bit more influence (you'll notice that people with full wallets have a LOT of power in their votes--one "whale" could single-handedly keep you doing really well on the platform.

I tend to dislike a lot of artists, too! Especially poets.. ah.. In general, though, you'll find that Steemit's quality is waaaaaaay above what you see elsewhere. I was expecting the same thing, and of course you have to sift a little bit, but there is much more great quality than I expected.

..except for the poetry. Most of it is painfully sentimental dross with no poetic effort beyond predictable rhymes and teen-girl journal free verse.. harsh, I know. But a bit true. Talking about it here just made me grumpy so I don't look at it anymore or talk about it much. lol!

But most everything else has been a very pleasant surprise. Lots of disenfranchised but intelligent and talented artists have come here like moths to a flame. You'll enjoy it, I think!