I Earn More Writing Comments Than Writing Posts

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

source

Hi Steemians

I joined steemit 2 months ago and at first I didn't really commit myself to writing every day and my content was not quality and the reason was that I was more interested in making money fast. This was foolish, selfish and naive on my part. I was more interested in raising funds to help me with my student debt and getting a PC but I stopped this and decided to put more real effort into steemit and if I earned anything along the way then that would be a bonus. I learned about steem and crypto which I had no interest in at the time. Although I haven't actually invested in any steem from my own money, everything I do earn I use to power up my SP. Maybe later when I get more financially secure I will invest more of my own money.

I decided to write posts which were mostly related to my studies on social science such as psychology, sociology, politics and even some posts on history. My posts didn't get anything for first week or two but then as my followers increased I began getting little upvotes and some comments which was fantastic. My reputation began increasing from 25 to 27 then shot up 36 and now I'm at 46.

I believe my posts were of quality with valuable educational information some with over 1500 words but the return didn't seem to justify the work I put into each post in comparison to the effort it took writing them and also very frustrating when I read posts from others that were mostly youtube videos or pictures with few sentences and received tens or hundreds of $$$

I began leaving more comments on posts and upvotes but I never really kept my eye on comments I left to see if I got a reply or upvote. I usually leave a few sentences or maybe a few paragraphs on posts that interest me especially if I have knowledge about the topic posted.

Rep (46) | 100% VP = $0.00

190 followers | 518 following

288 posts
(77posts | 212 comments)

Table below shows how many posts I submitted & how many comments & upvotes I received & total earning for September & October.

|Month |Posts|Comments|Upvotes|  SBD   |
| Sept | 31  |   57   |   83  | $10.12 |
| Oct  | 46  |  129   |  234  |  $9.81 |
|Total | 77  |  186   |  317  | $19.93 |

When I looked at my stats today for potential rewards I found that my comments from last 9 days had earned more than my posts. It may not show above (Sept & Oct) but these last 9 days and next 7 days that show me that Ive earned more with comments.
When I checked Steem Supply & Steem Tracked I see that over the last 2 weeks and next 7 days my earnings for comments are more that of my posts. $5 in comments to £2 in posts at time I am writing this. So my estimated earning for November have passed Sept & Oct. By end of November I should be earning more than previous 2 months of $19.93.

OBVIOUSLY, there are those that earn lots with their posts & quite rightly so if they have put in the work. Some only need to post once a week and still earn more than what my potential earning are for the WHOLE YEAR according to steem supply. BUT I will keep trying to get more rewards because I still WANT MY PC. :D

Leaving good comments can be rewarding as I have seen these last few days & for next 7 days and I will continue to post good comments. Also, DON'T expect to be rewarded for every comment or SPAM posts with rubbish comments.I will continue on my steemit journey and reap the rewards along the way. Hopefully, I find a good balance and also find my niche.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. Please upvote and resteem If you liked what you read.
Also I always want good people followers and if you got this far down my post I invite you to click that follow button

:D

source

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 77.0% @roomservice upgoat, thanks to @keviginge
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @keviginge to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I've also noticed this.
My last post got 4 votes.
I upvoted a comment + replied to it.
My upvote was the only one on that comment;
Yet my reply-reply got 14 upvotes.
image