Should You Try To Make Money With Your Creative Talents?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Art For Arts Sake.jpg

Admittedly I haven't been around Steemit for long, but I HAVE been around long enough in the world to know that I'm worth something. I've read blog after blog with advice such as "… forget the money and just write quality content… " (whatever THAT is). Well sorry but I don't agree with that statement at all, and as far as I can see, it certainly doesn't apply to Steemit. You definitely SHOULD think about the money. Having the ability to actually earn from your artistic or intellectual ability is, among other things, the main attraction to this platform over others, and for good reason.

So should you try to make money with your creative talents? Damn right! Here's why...

You're here, I presume, because it's supposedly an arena in which to share your story with like-minded people and try to get payed at least something. Maybe you're a writer of some sort, a musician, artist, or someone who has a bit of knowledge or expertise in a particular area not related to the arts. Whatever your skill is, I guess you've spent quite a bit of time honing it, learning and gaining knowledge. Actually you've spent ALOT of time honing your skill, and time is money is it not?

You're good at what you do and you've sacrificed a big part of your life to get to this point. You see other people that ARE making money from similar creative endeavours. Some of them are even making a living from them. You don't really see much difference between your offerings and those of these successful ones. Surely this is proof that people will pay for YOUR talents.

It's a great feeling being appreciated for our efforts. It motivates us and keeps us going a bit further - but only so far until you run out of steam (no pun intended). A compliment is great, but it's like an empty promise. It’s sort of a take without a give. A more honest form of appreciation is when someone sacrifices something for your effort - you know, like… money. It shows that they feel you have given them something worthwhile and want to give you something back in return. Money is the main way we make the transaction. There's nothing wrong with wanting money. It keeps us alive.

As a working musician I used to do a lot of busking. It was at times quite a psychological struggle to stay enthusiastic as droves of people walked past without even looking at me. Occasionally someone would stop, take a seat and listen for a while. Sometimes they would give me the thumbs up or have a quick encouraging word. It gave me a boost and consequentially I would give my music more energy and feeling for a while - for a short while.

Other times I'd be playing on the street and for some reason the coins would start raining into my guitar case. You couldn't get the smile off my face on those days. Even better when the big notes came in. That is REAL appreciation. Boy my guitar would start to sing! The more I came alive the more money I made. It's a good feeling when someone appreciates your worth, but it's a GREAT feeling when they pay you handsomely for it.

I consider myself very fortunate to be someone who took the creative path to make a living. I worked hard and it's payed me back. I now earn a decent income as a solo musician playing a maximum of three nights per week. That's it. On week days I do whatever I like. Practice my guitar or maybe write on Steemit if I feel like it. When I perform my shows I'm happy because I know I'm rewarded well. Occasionally someone will shove a fifty dollar note in my hand and say "Love your work mate, thank you". You should be there on those nights because I'm on fire!

Don't ever think your art or skill has no worth. It certainly has worth. Don't feel guilty about wanting to get paid for the great things you have to offer. And remember that this post is about WHY you should get paid for your creative talents, not HOW to get paid. That's up to you. Good luck.

Sort:  

Of course steemit is about getting paid for hwat you create, but I think it is more about musicians supporting other musicians and by that being able to get around in life :) I love the community more than the money, because the creativity is going around in circles and intensifies by that
nice post though

Absolutely agree @inmusicalterms. The community and the money go hand in hand - like a community in the physical world. I see you doing some great posts by the way. You should be payed more!

Personally I feel steemit is cool for those that are in it but not cool as far as non musicians music lovers as it too complicated to join

Sure @peter-ella it's a bit complicated to get your head around Steemit in the beginning (if you want to actively participate). However one thing I like about it is that it's not a closed community. It's not necessary to be a member or to be logged in to read a post. They're all searchable on google and you can share your links to anyone. Go ahead, create and share it to the world (and hopefully get paid!)

Congratulations @kimwainwright! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kimwainwright! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!