I made those banknotes and spreaded them through various public places of my city

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I wanted to advertise Steemit platform and I came with this idea after remembering a post I saw on reddit about churches advertising theirselves in fake banknotes. Here is the printable ad I created (I know my photoshop level is over 9000):

Those banknotes were made in an attempt to attract people into steem. The places where they were placed included a public library (in some tables and inside some books), a bar, a gas station and in some vending machines among others.

In the text it can be read (note that back side has been rotated 180º to make the text readable) "Bad luck, this is not a real banknote but if you still want to earn 10 true euros you can sign up for Steemit, a social network that gives you 10€ after registering and more money creating quality content. Scan the QR code to learn more"

Sort:  

I'm pretty sure this is illegal.

In Spain it is legal as long as it can be easily distinguished from real cash and you don't try to replicate security measueres like the metal band, the foil band, the transparency, serial number, etc. We even have a version of monopoly with euro banknotes that are a exact copy of the true ones but a bit smaller (the 5€ banknote from monopoly is the same size as the real old one) but they lack the number on the top left corner, serial number and they are also print in normal paper.

This is even the old 10 banknote, the new one is that:


and includes new anti counterfeit measures (it is also smaller than the old one)

This could have a backfiring effect, and accounts aren't worth 10 euro anymore.

But then they got disappointed because it's 10 bucks and it worths less than 10 euros. :P

Pretty cool. Just make sure that the police doesn't think that you are counterfeiting haha
Please check out my idea on getting more posts rewarded:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@lorddominik007/my-thoughts-on-steemit-an-idea-to-help-great-posts-be-recognized

I like the idea (of course as long as there's no legal concerns.) So long as it's not left in place of tips for people. I've encountered that personally where someone leaves a 'money' looking card in place of my tip.

I'd highly doubt you were doing that though :)