You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This is what happens when STEEM rises to more than $3...

in #steemit6 years ago

Usage has nothing to do with price. If I send you one steem once a day, and you send me one steem back once a day - or if we do this 10000 times day does not make any difference, right?

As long as the money flows, the price is not changed. Only when there is a reason to stopping the flow (or sucking in more) the price changes.

Sort:  

I think you're wrong. I can tell you with 100% certainty that I, for one, am making an effort to write more frequently now that the SBD price is boosting rewards so massively.

Well, that's you, we the early adopters were active when the price was 10 cents and never stopped when there were 0's and 100's on our posts. Beeing a steemian is far more then just trying to exploit the hype.

Wow. You early adopters are so god-like.

So your writing much has increased the price?

No, usage has not increased it.

I think we are speaking a different language.

I will try to expand on my original point. In the traditional business world a new venture in social media would be valued based on its network effect. Increase in usage and adoption would mean an increase in value and that would cause investors to buy the stock. In this scenario Usage drives Price.

Here on Steemit I am suggesting that increase price for STEEM and SBD is potentially attracting new people to the platform and encouraging existing users to post more as they are now being rewarded more. In this scenario Price drives Usage.

In truth both scenarios are possibly in play and as @demotruk so succinctly put it "there's a feedback loop" and you and I could have a "chicken and egg" argument now but I think I'm done here :)

Ah, so you are not talking about usage that drives prices, but the speculators seeing an increase in usage and buy!

That is a huge difference, it's different people acting and changing the price.