You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit - The Oxymoron Social Media site

in #steemit7 years ago

love the enthusiasm, but not sure if long term steem will be the dominant block chain social media platform. History has shown that companies that are the first invention wise do not always end up being the winners. Can you remember Friends Reunited or Myspace?

Sort:  

I remember them both and yes that maybe true in many cases but this really isn't a new idea, the only new aspect of it is it being block chain supported instead of advertisement based. I have done well here because I use to write for a site that in many ways was like Steemit in the fact you got paid to post and comment when people upliked it. But the money sucked If you got a $1 for a post that was considered good. Site lasted about 2 years then they stopped paying people.

What was the name of the site? Was not aware that there was a concept similar to Steemit that had already been tried.

mylot.com it is still around and I hear they reward people again but it is a joke to earn $5 takes a month

and it wasn't block chained based it was advertisement supported

Thanks for the link - I checked it out and can see the similarities. Liked that they have a new users page and that users can send private messages to each other. Found the adverts irritating especially the pop up ones, community guidelines were too prescriptive - this happens when there are human moderators - and the top post was a guy complaining that his post got deleted. So a No from me for mylot.

Yeah it went to shit and it was never all that because of the low earnings. But there were things I learned there that has really helped me here. I been here for 49 days I have been earning a little more each week and I do credit what I learned there to doing well here. It use to not be so censored.