I'm not particularly fond of this 7 day limit thing on payouts

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So I'm still wrapping my head around the changes and obviously some of them will be too technical for me to grasp but one thing that has been particularly bothering me is the amount of time I now have to wait to get money that I earned for myself posting. It's a bit demoralising actually and I don't blame people for getting pissy about all these changes because I was really starting to like Steemit and I don't want to see it follow all the tedious and irritating patterns that other systems like say Youtube does where you get paid by the end of the month.

One of the really nice things about cryptocurrencies is just how fast it is in comparison to banks in particular and how we get our money when it's sent and when we want it rather than have some horrible and annoying third party implement silly arbitrary restrictions on everything just because we can. With Bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies the meddling middleman was eliminated and it feels so fucking good, it would be really nice if the devs didn't ruin a good thing.

Make the overall changes if you must to deal with scaling up the network, Bitcoin is dealing with that issue as well as everybody else, but don't sacrifice the ease of use in order to do it, in other words, don't fix what isn't broken because I'm having a hard time understanding the logic behind putting such a long limit on payouts.

I think we should maybe at least consider as a community putting our foot down on these sorts of limits, I can understand when it comes to powering down putting them on because that will prevent people from dumping steem a lot and crashing the exchange rate but doing it to actual payouts as well? Completely unnecessary as far as I'm concerned unless there's a technical reason here I'm not aware of.

Sort:  

Post every day, the bots will up vote it (no matter what you post)...post frequently...then in seven days the pipe will start to flow..

That's the thing, going by what you said one could argue that it encourages spam because people are going to have to make posts to make sure they get paid a decent amount within a certain time frame.

yup.
If you want more of something...reward it.
If you want less of something...don't.

So you think it's a good idea to just spam pointless posts to get upvotes rather than come up with good content to keep up the payments?