Please allow me to introduce myself...

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

frank barone.jpg

Let me be frank...like many others out there, I have grown exhausted and depressed at what social media has become. What started out as a good tool for networking and bringing the world closer, both socially and electronically, has long mutated into a hate filled leviathan capable of the fiercest online bullying, as well as the greatest perpetrator of political correctness, thought and idea censorship, and especially the wildfire-like spread of misinformation. They say we are in The Information Age.
I beg to differ. I think due to the grave perversions of social media, a more fitting title for our era is The Misinformation Age.
I looked upon this problem with enormous despondency, and a year ago I actually made a real effort to remove myself almost entirely from social media. And I've pretty much been removed from it all...until I recently discovered this platform. I hope that it is different.

What I hope to accomplish on this platform is to engage in thoughtful, respectful and provocative dialogue with my fellow Steemit peers. It is not my intention to show any disrespect towards any one and I plan to show malice towards none.
We as humans have been given the unique ability to observe, think, communicate and reason with one another in the hopes of problem solving, and leaving the world slightly better off than how we found it. How else are we to accomplish such a feat if we are no longer capable of interacting with one another in a civil manner? Or could it be a self fulfilling prophecy that the only thing that humanity has consistently been good at throughout the ages is ruining things?

With this profile, I hope to take a more optimistic approach. I want to discuss subjects that I'm interested in with other like minded people. These subjects range from economics, politics, history, theology, philosophy, movies, TV shows, books, poetry, comedy, current events/news, pop culture, technology, etc. Honestly, I'm open to any thoughtful topics that will aspire respectful and provocative discussion that could enrich myself and others. If my posts and conversations that I engage with get even one person thinking and talking, then I will consider this profile to be a success.
It doesn't always need to be serious either. I'm all for a good joke and I love humor. From time to time, you may very well see me posting things that accomplish nothing other than to get a laugh...hopefully well earned laughs.

I encourage my future readers to engage with what I post and to share anything with me if it will evoke good conversation. Nothing is off limits. All I ask for is respect shown towards me, and especially to everyone else who engages and comments on my posts.

  • Frank
Sort:  

Hi and welcome :)
In my experience (I'm a little new here), in streemit there is a lot of respect for everyone. Wars arises only when someone try to exploit badly the platform (in short: promoting a lot of bad contents only for money).
PS: by the way, promoting your content is fine, when you think it's good stuff.

Hi wellwell. Welcome, welcome!
Yes, I think I've seen a little bit of that in the short time I've been on here, but it's still no where near as bad as what I was seeing on other platforms. Thanks for the reply. I'll follow you and hopefully we can have many great comment exchanges in the future!

At the moment probably you will find I'm posting some strange content, that's because I'm experimenting (with little tests) just to find out how things work in steemit.
For example now I'm trying to understand how bidding bots work (as promotional tools) and if they are good for steemit and for users (my findings at the moment: probably they can be good, if used in the right way to promote good content. In my opinion they can work fine for all the environement. Unfortunately at the moment someone it's exploiting this kind of bots, so it's not easy to undertand the matter, economically speaking now it's too far from the market equilibrium).

Very interesting. I'll admit that I'm not quite sure how all that works. But in any case, I say keep experimenting. I look forward to seeing what you come up with.

I'm new too... don't get discouraged, keep creating posts, follow others with similar likes, upvote when you can... hopefully we can actually help each other benefit in multiple ways... welcome!

Hi puppetmaster1111,
Thanks for responding. I'll definitely follow you as well.
Yes, while I've been discouraged for sometime, this entire platform so far has been very reassuring.
Hopefully we too can have some great chats in the future!