Steemit password key confusion!

in #steemit6 years ago

I am absolutely baffled and confused like a hippie in the 60's who took too many psychedelics.
The Steemit password conundrum i am calling this, So i have finally figured out which "KEY" i can use to login to my account as i setup the account on my mobile.
So after finally getting into my account and being logged in and able to post and reply, i went to change my profile picture..... big mistake, little did i know i am not able to change this profile picture without a Private or Master Key.

So off i went into my permissions and keys area to see which key i needed to update the profile picture, First off i tried the ACTIVE KEY, Which was recommended as the key needed to update my profile, THIS DID NOT WORK and told me it was the incorrect password as it was the private key required, so i tried to LOGIN to get Private active key, ALAS none of my other password keys allowed me to login to find my private active key.

Next step naturally is to try the owner key, being this is the key that is used to change and update everything else according to what i have read and understood, and ALAS this key is also not classed as a private key and will not allow me to update my profile picture.

So now i am stuck in which feels to be a 8 x 12 jail cell where i cannot use any of my keys to do anything other than post!

Is anyone else stuck and baffled as much as i am regarding all these different keys and private/public.

Any insight so i can have a profile picture would be great. Any further insight into which one of these keys is supposed to me my MASTER PASSWORD key??

Thank you in advance from a truly confused new user, who has never been so confused about passwords before...

Sort:  

Hi Liam @Liamobrien,

You need your Master Password to see all your keys, It's the password that begins with "P5". I found this article really useful when I was trying to 'post' and couldn't figure out how to do it! It explains about the different keys.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@dragosroua/the-beginner-guide-to-not-getting-hacked-on-steemit

Hope this helps!

Congratulations @liamobrien! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @liamobrien! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!