You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I need some help with a programming task: use Python to grab a web page, and email it so the email can be read normally

in #steemit6 years ago

Thanks! I'm working on a project to email me when there's a new post by a Steemit user. @libertyranger (no relation :) ) had created one for @haejin, but it seems to have stopped working so I figured I'd flex my development muscles.

I've got it working, sending an SMS to my phone. I wanted to expand on it, so that it could detect (or be told) "this email is to a phone" or "this isn't to a phone" -- and for the latter, to add the entire post.

There are two reasons for that -- first, it saves a click; the user just has to scroll down while viewing the email. Second, it preserves it for historical reasons, in case Steemit ever goes down, or the post changes, etc.

To your questions, it's possible that I could grab a smaller portion of the blog page. I like the way my solution is trending -- but the email doesn't read well, because apparently Steemit does some loading of page elements after the HTML is loaded. Meaning, wget might not be enough, either.

It's more for convenience than anything else, and thus really should be an "extra credit" i.e. low priority, side task. But sometimes I get stuck on something... :)

Sort:  

Ive not had the time to come up with a good solution.
But you're a dev. You'll find a way to do this.
J J J J J